clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How the race order will be set for Sunday’s Cup Series Race at Kansas

We go over the betting favorites to win Sunday’s Hollywood Casino 400, as well as the starting grid.

Denny Hamlin, driver of the FedEx Ground Toyota, drives during the NASCAR Cup Series Bank of America ROVAL 400 at Charlotte Motor Speedway on October 11, 2020 in Concord, North Carolina. Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

The NASCAR Cup Series’ Hollywood Casino 400 is set to run on Sunday at 2:30 p.m. ET. The race will take place at Kansas Speedway and will be aired on NBC. Let’s go over the starting order and betting favorites ahead of the race.

NASCAR made changes to how qualifying in the three national series (Cup, Xfinity, Gander Outdoors Truck) in August. Three performance metrics will be utilized, with each one weighted a little different. It breaks down as follows.

  • Finishing position from the previous race (weighted 50%)
  • Ranking in team owner points standings (35%)
  • Fastest lap from the previous race (15%)

Denny Hamlin is the favorite on DraftKings Sportsbook at +400 and is looking to follow up his victory at the Bank of America Roval 400. He’s won his last two races at Kansas. Hamlin is trailed by Kevin Harvick (+450) and Chase Elliott (+550). Both drivers finished inside the top five at the Roval 400 and have won at Kansas in the last three years.

Here’s what the starting grid looks like for Sunday’s race.

2020 Hollywood Casino 400 starting lineup

Starting spot Driver Car # Team
Starting spot Driver Car # Team
1 Chase Elliott (P) 9 Hendrick Motorsports
2 Joey Logano (P) 22 Team Penske
3 Kurt Busch (P) 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
4 Kevin Harvick (P) 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
5 Martin Truex Jr. (P) 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
6 Alex Bowman (P) 88 Hendrick Motorsports
7 Denny Hamlin (P) 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
8 Brad Keselowski (P) 2 Team Penske
9 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
10 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
11 Erik Jones 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
12 Clint Bowyer 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
13 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
14 Jimmie Johnson 48 Hendrick Motorsports
15 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
16 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
17 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
18 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing
19 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
20 Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
21 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
22 Christopher Bell 95 Leavine Family Racing
23 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
24 Bubba Wallace 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
25 Ty Dillon 13 Germain Racing
26 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
27 Daniel Suarez 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing
28 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
29 Corey LaJoie 32 Go Fas Racing
30 Matt Kenseth 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
31 Quin Houff 0 StarCom Racing
32 John Hunter Nemechek 38 Front Row Motorsports
33 James Davison 53 Rick Ware Racing
34 JJ Yeley 27 Rick Ware Racing
35 Brennan Poole 15 Premium Motorsports
36 Reed Sorenson 77 Spire Motorsports
37 Timmy Hill 66 MBM Motorsports
38 Joey Gase 51 Petty Ware Racing
39 Josh Bilicki 7 Tommy Baldwin Racing
40 Chad Finchum 49 MBM Motorsports