clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How the race order will be set for Sunday’s Cup Series Race at Charlotte

We go over the betting favorites to win Sunday’s Bank of America Roval 400, as well as the starting grid.

Chase Elliott, driver of the Kelley Blue Book Chevrolet, drives during the NASCAR Cup Series Alsco Uniforms 500 at Charlotte Motor Speedway on May 28, 2020 in Concord, North Carolina. Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images

The Bank of America ROVAL 400 is the next race in the NASCAR Cup Series, and it’s set to take place at Charlotte Motor Speedway on Sunday at 2:30 p.m. ET. The race will be be aired on NBC. Let’s go over the starting order and betting favorites ahead of the race.

NASCAR made changes to how qualifying in the three national series (Cup, Xfinity, Gander Outdoors Truck) in August. Three performance metrics will be utilized, with each one weighted a little different. It breaks down as follows.

  • Finishing position from the previous race (weighted 50%)
  • Ranking in team owner points standings (35%)
  • Fastest lap from the previous race (15%)

Chase Elliott is the odds-on favorite on DraftKings Sportsbook at +300. He won at Charlotte last September and finished sixth there in 2018. Martin Truex Jr. isn’t far behind at +500. He’s trailed by points leader Denny Hamlin and Kevin Harvick at +700. Hamlin is looking to build off his YellaWood 500 from last week.

Here’s what the starting grid looks like for Sunday’s race.

2020 Bank of America ROVAL 400 starting lineup

Starting spot Driver Car # Team
Starting spot Driver Car # Team
1 Denny Hamlin (P) 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
2 Chase Elliott (P) 9 Hendrick Motorsports
3 Brad Keselowski (P) 2 Team Penske
4 Kevin Harvick (P) 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
5 Alex Bowman (P) 88 Hendrick Motorsports
6 Austin Dillon (P) 3 Richard Childress Racing
7 Martin Truex Jr. (P) 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
8 Joey Logano (P) 22 Team Penske
9 Kyle Busch (P) 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
10 Kurt Busch (P) 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
11 Clint Bowyer (P) 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
12 Aric Almirola (P) 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
13 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
14 Erik Jones 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
15 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
16 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
17 Ty Dillon 13 Germain Racing
18 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
19 John Hunter Nemechek 38 Front Row Racing
20 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing
21 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
22 Brennan Poole 15 Premium Motorsports
23 Matt Kenseth 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
24 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
25 Quinn Houff 0 StarCom Racing
26 Bubba Wallace 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
27 Timmy Hill 66 MBM Motorsports
28 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
29 Joey Gase 51 Petty Ware Racing
30 Jimmie Johnson 48 Hendrick Motorsports
31 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Racing
32 Corey LaJoie 32 GoFas Racing
33 JJ Yeley 77 Spire Motorsports
34 Daniel Suarez 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing
35 Christopher Bell 95 Leavine Family Racing
36 Gray Gaulding 27 Rick Ware Racing
37 James Davison 53 Rick Ware Racing
38 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing