clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Opening round of FIFA 20’s La Liga competition

Since they can’t decide it on the field, some La Liga players are taking to the joysticks to determine the champion this season

Lucas Perez of Deportivo de La Coruna in action during the La Liga match between Celta de Vigo and Deportivo La Coruna at Balaidos Stadium on May 5, 2018 in Vigo, Spain. Photo by Quality Sport Images/Getty Images

La Liga cannot be decided on the pitch this season, so 19 of the 20 teams in the Spanish top flight are taking part in a FIFA 20 video game tournament hosted by Spanish esports announcer Ibai Llanos on his Twitch channel.

19 of the 20 sides will be represented, and today is the three play-in games to make the main draw of 16 that will determine the champion. The competition begins streaming live at 2:00 p.m. ET

The top 13 teams in the real-life La Liga table begin play tomorrow in the Round of 16. The quarterfinals will follow on Saturday as well, with the semifinals and finals are both set for Sunday.

Here is the complete schedule for the coming weekend of action. The player representing the team is in parenthesis next to his team.

Game 1: CD Leganés (Aitor Ruibal) vs. Real Valladolid (Pedro Porro)
Game 2: Alavés (Lucas Pérez) vs. RC Celta Vigo (Kevin Vázquez)
Game 3: RCD Espanyol (Adrián Embarba) vs. SD Eibar (Edu Expósito)

On the pitch, Lucas Pérez is the class of this field, registering 11 goals in 26 matches this season for Alavés, while helping to keep the side of his youth above relegation after a long career.

The winner of Game 1 will face CA Osasuna and Rubén García tomorrow, with Game 2 winner getting Levante and Carlos Clerc. And the Game 3 winner between Espanyol and Eibar faces the Catalan giants FC Barcelona, helmed by Sergi Roberto, in tomorrow’s opener.