clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

La Liga announces first eight days of football in season return

Spain’s premier soccer league is returning to action on June 11th. We break down the schedule of matches released for the first eight days.

Empty RCD Stadium of RCD Espanyol team of Spanish La Liga football, in Barcelona, Spain, on May 28, 2020. Photo by Xavier Bonilla/NurPhoto via Getty Images

La Liga, Spain’s premier soccer league, is set to return on June 11th. This past weekend, league president Javier Tebas announced the plans to return, and La Liga followed up with the full schedule for the first two matchdays back.

The season will resume on the 11th with a derby match between Sevilla and Real Betis at 4 p.m. ET. That will be followed by seven straight days of matches as La Liga works to make up for lost time with two matchdays in that period.

Barcelona currently leads La Liga with 58 points on 18 wins and 4 draws. Real Madrid is right behind them at 56 points, and those two are the primary competitors for the league title. Sevilla FC follows with 47 points, and then Real Sociedad and Getafe at 46 points and Atletico Madrid at 45 points. The latter four are competing for two Champions Leagues berths at this point.

On the bottom end of the table, Mallorca (25 points), Leganes (23), and Espanyol (20) are in the relegation spots, with Celta Vigo (26), Eibar (27), and Real Valladolid (29) right in the mix heading into the restart.

Matchday 32

Sevilla FC vs. Real Betis, 4 p.m. June 11

Granada vs. Getafe, 1:30 p.m. June 12
Valencia vs. Levante, 4 p.m. June 12

Espanyol vs. Alavés, 7 a.m. June 13
Celta Vigo vs. Villarreal, 11 a.m. June 13
Leganes vs. Real Valladolid, 1:30 p.m. June 13
Mallorca vs. Barcelona, 4 p.m. June 13

Athletic Bilbao vs. Atletico Madrid, 7 a.m. June 14
Real Madrid vs. Eibar, 1:30 p.m. June 14
Real Sociedad vs. Osasuna, 4 p.m. June 14

Matchday 33

Levante vs. Sevilla FC, 1:30 p.m. June 15
Real Betis vs. Granada, 4 p.m. June 15

Getafe vs. Espanyol, 1:30 p.m. June 16
Villarreal vs. Mallorca, 1:30 p.m. June 16
Barcelona vs. Leganes, 4 p.m. June 16

Eibar vs. Athletic Bilbao, 1:30 p.m. June 17
Real Valladolid vs. Celta Vigo, 1:30 p.m. June 17
Osasuna vs. Atletico Madrid, 4 p.m. June 17

Alavés vs. Real Sociedad, 1:30 p.m. June 18
Real Madrid vs. Valencia, 4 p.m. June 18