clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How the race order will be set for Saturday’s Unhinged 300

We go over the starting grid ahead of Saturday’s Unhinged 300 at Talladega Superspeedway.

NASCAR’s Xfinity Series returns to action on Saturday at historic Talladega Superspeedway. The junior circuit will run the Unhinged 300, with the race set begin at 5:30 p.m. ET on FS1.

NASCAR is not holding traditional qualifying runs, although that could change as we get further into the summer. But for now through the Talladega races, to cut down on events and attempt to protect health and safety, the Cup, Xfinity, and Truck Series are using random draws connected to points standings.

The Xfinity Series will use the following process for determining the starting grid for the Unhinged 300:

  • Positions 1-12: The first 12 NXS Teams based on the Adverse Conditions Line Up Eligibility will be assigned starting positions 1st – 12th using a random draw.
  • Positions 13-24: The next 12 NXS Teams based on the Adverse Conditions Line Up eligibility will be assigned starting positions 12th- 24th using a random draw.
  • Starting positions 25-36: The next 12 NXS Teams based on the Adverse Conditions Line Up eligibility will be assigned starting positions 25th -36th using a random draw.
  • Any vehicles that are eligible for the Event in positions 37th – 40th will be assigned starting positions based on their order of eligibility.

Justin Haley claimed the pole, and will be joined by Michael Annett in the front row. Haley is +1000 to win the race at DraftKings Sportsbook, while Annett is +1800.

Chase Briscoe (+600) is the favorite after claiming his third win of the season at the Contender Boats 250 last weekend. He leads all drivers in wins and is second in the standings. He’s trailed by first place Noah Gragson (+650), who’s notched three straight top five finishes and has two wins this year. Justin Allgaier and Ross Chastain are both at +700 while A.J. Allmendinger rounds out the top five in the odds.

Here is the complete race order.

Unhinged 300 starting lineup

Pos Driver Car
Pos Driver Car
1 Justin Haley 11
2 Michael Annett 1
3 Ryan Sieg 39
4 Chase Briscoe 98
5 Noah Gragson 9
6 Brandon Jones 19
7 Austin Cindric 22
8 Jeb Burton 8
9 Ross Chastain 10
10 Anthony Alfredo 21
11 Harrison Burton 20
12 Justin Allgaier 7
13 Jeffrey Earnhardt 0
14 Robby Lyons 15
15 Brandon Brown 68
16 B.J. McLeod 6
17 Caesar Bacarella 90
18 Jesse Little 4
19 Jeremy Clements 51
20 Brett Moffitt 2
21 Gray Gaulding 7
22 Riley Herbst 18
23 Joe Graf, Jr. 8
24 Josh Williams 92
25 Mike Harmon 74
26 Kody Vanderwal 52
27 Alex Labbe 36
28 Vinnie Miller 78
29 Joe Nemechek 47
30 Chad Finchum 13
31 Myatt Snider 93
32 Tommy Joe Martins 44
33 Timmy Hill 61
34 A.J. Allmendinger 16
35 Mason Massey 99
36 Jeff Green 38
37 Matt Mills 5
38 John Jackson 66
39 Colin Garrett 26