clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NHL announces Edmonton, Toronto as 2020 playoff hub cities

The NHL and NHLPA have ratified a return-to-play plan and a CBA extension. That means the hub cities are finalized.

A general view of Scotiabank Arena prior to game four of the first round of the 2019 Stanley Cup Playoffs between the Boston Bruins and Toronto Maple Leafs. John E. Sokolowski-USA TODAY Sports

The NHL will drop the puck on its 2020 season restart on August 1st, with training camp set to start on July 13th. The owners and players agreed to and ratified a deal that includes a return-to-play plan and an extension of the collective bargaining agreement.

The deal means the two hub cities are finalized. Once training camp ends, teams will head to their respective hub cities on June 26th. The league announced the news on Friday and formally confirmed the locations that will host the 24 teams. 12 teams will head to Toronto and 12 teams will head to Edmonton.

The league announced plans to conduct a 24-team tournament that will start in late July. Rather than go with a single bubble city, they have elected to go with two hub cities, one for each conference. Eight teams in each city will play a qualifying round to advance to the formal Stanley Cup Playoffs. The top four teams in each hub city will play for top seeding in their respective conference side of the bracket.

Here is how each hub breaks down.

Eastern Conference — Toronto

Round-robin for top four

Boston Bruins, Tampa Bay Lightning, Washington Capitals, Philadelphia Flyers

Best-of-5 Qualifying

Western Conference — Edmonton

Round-robin for top four

St. Louis Blues, Colorado Avalanche, Vegas Golden Knights, Dallas Stars

Best-of-5 Qualifying