clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How race order is determined for the NASCAR All-Star Open and All-Star Race

NASCAR is headed to Bristol Motor Speedway for the All-Star Open and All-Star Race. We break down the starting order.

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series All-Star Race trophy is shown prior to practice for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Food City 500 at Bristol Motor Speedway on April 17, 2015 in Bristol, Tennessee. Photo by Sarah Glenn/NASCAR via Getty Images

NASCAR is headed to Bristol Motor Speedway for a short mid-week stopover before heading down to Texas for the weekend. Wednesday brings the annual NASCAR All-Star Open and All-Star Race. The Open gets going at 7 p.m. ET and is 85 laps. The Race gets going at 8:30 p.m. Both air on FS1.

The All-Star Race is open to NASCAR race winners from last season through last week’s Quaker State 400, all previous All Star Race winners, and NASCAR Cup Champions who attempted to qualify for every 2020 race. There are four additional spots, with one for each stage winner of the All-Star Open and then the winner of a fan vote.

The qualifying order for each race is done by random draw. Cup Series races have handled qualifying during the pandemic by conducting random draws based on three groups of team owner points. For the All-Star races, the entire race order is determined via random draw.

Here is the starting lineup for the 7 p.m. All-Star Open. Below that is the staring lineup for the 8:30 p.m. All-Star Race.

All-Star Open

2020 All-Star Open race order

Pos Driver No. Team Manufacturer
Pos Driver No. Team Manufacturer
1 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports Ford
2 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
3 Christopher Bell 95 Leavine Family Racing Toyota
4 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet
5 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet
6 Bubba Wallace 43 Richard Petty Motorsports Chevrolet
7 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
8 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing Ford
9 Clint Bowyer 14 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
10 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing Ford
11 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet
12 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet
13 J. J. Yeley 27 Rick Ware Racing Ford
14 Garrett Smithley 53 Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet
15 Brennan Poole 15 Premium Motorsports Chevrolet
16 Quin Houff 0 StarCom Racing Chevrolet
17 Joey Gase 51 Petty Ware Racing Ford
18 Daniel Suárez 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing Toyota
19 John Hunter Nemechek 38 Front Row Motorsports Ford
20 Ty Dillon 13 Germain Racing Chevrolet
21 Corey LaJoie 32 Go Fas Racing Ford

All-Star Race

2020 All-Star Race starting lineup

Pos Driver No. Team Manufacturer
Pos Driver No. Team Manufacturer
1 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
2 Alex Bowman 88 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
3 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske Ford
4 Justin Haley 77 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet
5 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
6 Matt Kenseth 42 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
7 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
8 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
9 Brad Keselowski 2 Team Penske Ford
10 Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
11 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing Ford
12 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske Ford
13 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
14 Jimmie Johnson 48 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
15 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
16 Erik Jones 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
17 Open Stage 1 TBD TBD TBD
18 Open Stage 2 TBD TBD TBD
19 Open Stage 3 TBD TBD TBD
20 Fan Vote Winner TBD TBD TBD