clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How the race order will be set for Sunday’s Big Machine 400

We break down how the starting order will be determined for the NASCAR Cup Series’ Big Machine 400 on Sunday.

Kevin Harvick, driver of the #4 Busch Head for the Mountains Ford, leads a pack of cars during the NASCAR Cup Series Pocono 350 at Pocono Raceway on June 28, 2020 in Long Pond, Pennsylvania. Photo by Patrick Smith/Getty Images

UPDATE: Joey Logano was selected for pole position. Jimmie Johnson was selected to start fourth, but withdrew after testing positive for Covid-19. Justin Allgaier replaced Johnson in the #48 card and will start fourth.

The NASCAR Cup Series’ Big Machine Hand Sanitizer 400 will run Sunday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. It will begin at 4:00 p.m. ET and can be watched on NBC.

The starting grid for the Big Machine 400 will be determined by random draws that account for where each driver stands in the points race.

Here’s the complete breakdown of how NASCAR will run things for Sunday’s race.

  • Positions 1-12: Random draw from charter teams in those positions in owner points
  • Positions 13-24: Random draw from charter teams in those positions in owner points
  • Positions 25-36: Random draw from charter teams in those positions in owner points
  • Positions 37-40: Open, non-chartered teams in order of owners points

Kevin Harvick (+400) is the favorite and tallied a win and a second place finish at Pocono Raceway last weekend. Although he has two wins in 19 starts at Indianapolis, he has 13 top 10s and has only dropped outside of the top 20 once. He’s trailed by Denny Hamlin (+500), who has won two of his last four races and also stole a victory at Pocono. He has more wins (4) than any other driver in the Cup Series.

Although Kyle Busch (+550) doesn’t have a single win this season, he has the third best odds on DraftKings Sportsbook. He didn’t finish at Sunday’s Pocono 350, but got his seventh top five finish of the year at the Pocono Organics 325 on Saturday.

Here’s how the complete starting grid for the Big Machine 400 looks like.

Big Machine 400 starting lineup

Pos Driver Car
Pos Driver Car
1 Joey Logano 22
2 Kurt Busch 1
3 Alex Bowman 88
4 Justin Allgaier 48
5 Aric Almirola 10
6 Denny Hamlin 11
7 Kyle Busch 18
8 Martin Truex, Jr. 19
9 Brad Keselowski 2
10 Chase Elliott 9
11 Kevin Harvick 4
12 Ryan Blaney 12
13 Tyler Reddick 8
14 Ryan Newman 6
15 Matt DiBenedetto 21
16 Austin Dillon 3
17 Bubba Wallace 43
18 William Byron 24
19 John Hunter Nemechek 38
20 Chris Buescher 17
21 Matt Kenseth 42
22 Clint Bowyer 14
23 Erik Jones 20
24 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 47
25 Joey Gase 51
26 Brennan Poole 15
27 Michael McDowell 34
28 Garrett Smithley 53
29 Ty Dillon 13
30 Cole Custer 41
31 Corey LaJoie 32
32 Ross Chastain 77
33 Quin Houff 0
34 J.J. Yeley 27
35 Christopher Bell 95
36 Ryan Preece 37
37 Daniel Suarez 96
38 Timmy Hill 66
39 Josh Bilicki 7
40 B.J. McLeod 78