clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How the race order will be set Thursday’s Xfinity Series race at Kentucky Speedway

We go over the starting grid for Thursday’s Xfinity Series race at the Kentucky Speedway.

Chase Briscoe, driver of the #98 Ford, crosses the finish line to win the the NASCAR Xfinity Series Pennzoil 150 at the Brickyard at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on July 04, 2020 in Indianapolis, Indiana. Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images

NASCAR will have an Xfinity Series race at Kentucky Speedway on Thursday, and it will be aired at 8:00 p.m. ET on FS1. We break down starting order of the race alongside some odds for drivers here.

NASCAR is not holding traditional qualifying runs to cut down on events and attempt to protect health and safety. The Cup, Xfinity, and Truck Series are using random draws connected to points standings. The Xfinity Series has been using a team points process for determining starting grid. The point totals break down top third, middle third, and bottom third, and then there is a random draw of teams within those thresholds.

Noah Gragson claimed the top spot, with Ross Chastain joining him in the front row. The second row features Jeb Burton and Michael Annett, and the third row features Harrison Burton and Brandon Jones.

Chase Briscoe is the favorite on DraftKings Sportsbook at +225 after winning his fifth race of the season Saturday and the Pennzoil 150 in Indianapolis. The Xfinity Series points leader is running hot and has won two straight races but only has one start at Kentucky under his belt. He finished fifth in his only race at the venue. Gragson and Justin Allgaier are tied at +500 for the second best odds. Gragson also has one career start at Kentucky while Allgaier has competed in four races with two top five finishes.

Here is the complete starting grid for Thursday’s Shady Rays 200.

2020 Shady Rays 200 starting lineup

Pos Driver Car
Pos Driver Car
1 Noah Gragson 9
2 Ross Chastain 10
3 Jeb Burton 8
4 Michael Annett 1
5 Harrison Burton 20
6 Brandon Jones 19
7 Chase Briscoe 98
8 Ryan Sieg 39
9 Justin Haley 11
10 Justin Allgaier 7
11 Anthony Alfredo 21
12 Austin Cindric 22
13 Brett Moffitt 2
14 Jesse Little 4
15 Garrett Smithley 7
16 Alex Labbe 36
17 B.J. McLeod 6
18 Josh Williams 92
19 Brandon Brown 68
20 Jeremy Clements 51
21 Colby Howard 15
22 Ronnie Bassett, Jr. 90
23 Riley Herbst 18
24 Jeffrey Earnhardt 0
25 Kody Vanderwal 52
26 Mason Massey 99
27 Bayley Currey 74
28 Myatt Snider 93
29 Stephen Leicht 66
30 Kyle Weatherman 47
31 Joe Graf, Jr. 8
32 Chad Finchum 13
33 Timmy Hill 61
34 Vinnie Miller 78
35 Matt Mills 5
36 Tommy Joe Martins 44