clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Who is in the AFC title game in the 2021 NFL Playoffs

We take a look at the teams who advanced to the AFC Championship in the 2021 NFL post-season.

What to expect in the AFC Championship

The 2021 AFC Championship Game is officially set. The Kansas City Chiefs will host the Buffalo Bills with the winner advancing to Super Bowl 55. The conference title game will take place next Sunday, January 24. Kickoff is set for 6:40 p.m. ET and will air on CBS.

No. 2 seed Buffalo Bills vs. No. 1 Kansas City Chiefs

Most expected a tight matchup between Buffalo and the Baltimore Ravens in the Divisional Rund but the home team ran away with the game. The Bills claimed a 17-3 victory and played some spectacular defense along the way. Josh Allen didn’t put up his usual gaudy numbers and threw for just 206 yards and a score, but he and Stefon Diggs clicked as usual en route to the win. People shouldn’t expect much rushing from Buffalo, as Devin Singletary only tallied 25 yards on seven carries in the Bills’ first playoff game without Zack Moss. Can Buffalo take down the Chiefs to reach the Super Bowl for the first time since 1993?

The masses expected Kansas City to top the Cleveland Browns by a sizeable margin in the Divisional Round, but the defending champs just managed to squeak by in the end. Kansas City was firing on all cylinders for most of the game but the tides started to turn when Patrick Mahomes left the contest in the third quarter with a concussion. Chad Henne was enough to push the home team to a victory but the franchise quarterback’s status for the AFC Championship could be up in the air. Will the Chiefs have enough firepower to get past the Bills without their field general under center?