clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Awards Show Winners

Here’s the list of the winners for the major awards of the 2020 college football season that aren’t the Heisman Trophy.

A view of the Outland Trophy before the game between the Rice Owls and the Houston Cougars at Rice Stadium on September 1, 2018 in Houston, Texas. Photo by Tim Warner/Getty Images

Here are the winners of each of college football’s major awards announced on Thursday, January 7th. While these awards aren’t as beloved as the Heisman Trophy DeVonta Smith of Alabama won on Tuesday, there’s still plenty of prestige in taking home a trophy as the best college football player at your position in America.

Here’s a list of all the players that were nominated, and the winners are below:

Outland Trophy (Interior lineman, offense or defense)

Alex Leatherwood, OL, Alabama

Leatherwood is the sixth Outland Trophy winner in Crimson Tide program history. The Pensacola, FL, native yielded only two sacks and three QB hurries all season long.

Nagurski Award (Best defensive player)

Zaven Collins, LB, Tulsa

Collins put his name on the map as a primary cog for Tulsa’s run to the AAC Championship game. He racked up 54 tackles, four interceptions, four sacks and two forced fumbles for the Golden Hurricane and is rising as a potential first-round pick in the upcoming NFL Draft.

Lou Groza Award (Kicker)

Jose Borregales, K, Miami

Borregales connected on 20-of-22 field goal attempts for the Hurricanes this season and made all 37 extra point attempts. He is the first Miami player to win a national award since Kellen Winslow II took home the Mackey Award in 2003.

Unitas Award (Upperclassmen quarterback)

Mac Jones, QB, Alabama

Also a Heisman finalist, Jones completed 77 percent of his passes this season for 4,036 yards and 36 touchdowns. The Jacksonville, FL, native also led the nation in passing efficiency (203.3).

Butkus Award (Linebacker)

Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah, LB, Notre Dame

Also named ACC Defensive Player of the Year, Owusu-Koramoah had 62 tackles, 11 tackles for loss and three forced fumbles in Notre Dame’s run to the College Football Playoff.

Davey O’Brien (Quarterback)

Mac Jones, QB, Alabama

Biletnikoff (Wide Receiver)

DeVonta Smith, WR, Alabama

The first wideout to win the Heisman in 28 years unsurprisingly takes home the Biletnikoff Award as well. Smith has 105 receptions for 1,641 yards and 20 touchdowns heading into Monday’s national championship game.

Ray Guy (Punter)

Pressley Harvin III, P, Georgia Tech

Harvin III wins the Ray Guy Award after booting 48 yards per punt in 2020, an ACC record. 49 percent of his punts traveled 50 yards or more this season.

Nagurski Award (Defensive player)

Zaven Collins, LB, Tulsa

Walter Camp Award (National Player of Year)

DeVonta Smith, WR, Alabama

Rimington Trophy (Center)

Landon Dickerson, C, Alabama

Dickerson was a terrific leader at Alabama as part of one of the best offenses in college football, but he suffered ligament damage in his knee during the SEC Championship Game.

Doak Walker Award (Running back)

Najee Harris, RB, Alabama

12 games, 1733 total yards, 27 total touchdowns. With a 6.1 yards per carry average, Harris is somehow almost overlooked on the best offense in America. He finished fifth in the Heisman Trophy balloting.

Jim Thorpe Award (Defensive back)

Trevon Moehrig, DB, TCU

With 47 tackles and two interceptions, Moehrig was a bit of a surprise over Alabama’s Patrick Surtain III.

Maxwell Award (Best overall player)

DeVonta Smith, WR, Alabama