clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

F1 sprint starting grid: Lewis Hamilton disqualified from pole position for Brazilian Grand Prix Saturday qualifying

Formula One racing is headed to São Paulo for the Brazilian Grand Prix. There will be two days of qualifying — traditional qualifying on Friday and a sprint race on Saturday. We’ll update Friday’s qualifying until we’ve got the full racing grid for Saturday’s sprint at Autódromo José Carlos Pace.

A general view of parc ferme after the F1 Grand Prix of Brazil at Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace on November 17, 2019 in Sao Paulo, Brazil. Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images

Sprint race results: Valtteri Bottas won the sprint race to claim the pole position for Sunday’s Brazilian Grand Prix. Full sprint race qualifying results.

UPDATE: Lewis Hamilton has been disqualified from qualifying due to a technical rules violation. He will start at the back of the pack on Saturday and also take a five-spot grid penalty on Sunday.

3:03 p.m. update: Lewis Hamilton has claimed the pole position for Saturday’s 100-km sprint race to determine Sunday’s starting grid. Max Verstappen came in second to join Hamilton on the front row.

2:44 p.m. update: Lewis Hamilton was once again the fastest in the second qualifying stage. The five eliminated drivers were Esteban Ocon, Sebastian Vettel, Yuki Tsunoda, Kimi Räikkönen, and Antonio Giovinazzi.

2:22 p.m. update: The first stage of qualifying is a wrap and Lewis Hamilton posted the fastest time. Hamilton faces a five-place grid drop on Sunday, but however he finishes on Friday will be his starting position on Saturday for the sprint race. The five drivers eliminated were Lance Stroll, Nicholas Latifi, George Russell, Mick Schumacher, and Nikita Mazepin.

Formula One racing has arrived in São Paulo this weekend for the Brazilian Grand Prix. The race will take place on Sunday at Autódromo José Carlos Pace, getting underway at noon ET on ESPN2. It will be available for live stream at WatchESPN.

Prior to the race, we get two days of qualifying to set the starting grid for Sunday. Traditionally, F1 uses a one-hour qualifying period on Saturday, broken up into three stages. The Brazilian Grand Prix is one of three races this year that feature a second qualifying period. The traditional one-hour, three-stage period will run on Friday to determine the starting grid for a 100-kilometer sprint race on Saturday. That Saturday race will determine Sunday’s starting grid.

On Friday, we get the one-hour qualifying period from 2 to 3 p.m. ET. It will air ESPNU. The 20 drivers will face off for an hour of racing to establish the fastest time and secure pole position. F1 qualifying is broken up into three stages. The first 20 minutes will eliminate five drivers and the next 15 minutes will eliminate five more. That will leave the remaining ten competing for pole position in Sunday’s race.

Max Verstappen is the favorite to be the fastest qualifier at DraftKings Sportsbook. He’s installed at -105, and is followed by Lewis Hamilton (+175), Valtteri Bottas (+550), and Sergio Pérez (+900).

Here is the full entry list for Sunday’s Brazilian Grand Prix. As qualifying gets underway, we’ll provide updates with each driver’s time and how the starting grid settles for Saturday’s sprint race.

2021 Brazilian Grand Prix, starting grid for Saturday sprint

Pos Driver Car No.
Pos Driver Car No.
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team 44
2 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing 33
3 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team 77
4 Sergio Pérez Red Bull Racing 11
5 Pierre Gasly Scuderia AlphaTauri Honda 10
6 Carlos Sainz, Jr. Scuderia Ferrari 55
7 Charles Leclerc Scuderia Ferrari 16
8 Lando Norris McLaren F1 Team 4
9 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren F1 Team 3
10 Fernando Alonso Alpine F1 Team 14
11 Esteban Ocon Alpine F1 Team 31
12 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin Cognizant F1 Team 5
13 Yuki Tsunoda Scuderia AlphaTauri Honda 22
14 Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo Racing ORLEN 7
15 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo Racing ORLEN 99
16 Lance Stroll Aston Martin Cognizant F1 Team 18
17 Nicholas Latifi Williams Racing 6
18 George Russell Williams Racing 63
19 Mick Schumacher Uralkali Haas F1 Team 47
20 Nikita Mazepin Uralkali Haas F1 Team 9