clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

F1 qualifying start time: What time qualifying begins for Qatar Grand Prix, how long it lasts on Saturday

F1 is back for the Qatar Grand Prix in Losail. Qualifying is scheduled for Saturday and we run through some key details.

A general view of the paddock during previews ahead of the F1 Grand Prix of Qatar at Losail International Circuit on November 18, 2021 in Doha, Qatar. Photo by Clive Mason/Getty Images

Formula One is headed to the Middle East for the final three-race stretch to close out the 2021 season. The Qatar Grand Prix makes its gran debut on Sunday at Losail International Circuit, in a town north of the capital city of Doha.

The Qatar Grand Prix airs Sunday at 9 a.m. ET on ESPN2 and will be available via live stream at WatchESPN. The day prior, qualifying is scheduled for 9 a.m. and it will also air on ESPN2. Qualifying lasts approximately one hour and is broken up into three stages, divided by brief intermissions between each one.

The first stage of qualifying is 20 minutes and features all 20 drivers. The slowest five drivers are eliminated and slotted into spots 16-20 in the starting grid. The second stage is 15 minutes and features the remaining cars with the five slowest eliminated and slotted into spots 11-15 in the starting grid. The final stage is ten minutes and features the final ten drivers competing for pole position through the tenth spot.

Lewis Hamilton is the favorite to claim the pole at DraftKings Sportsbook. He is installed at -105, followed by Max Verstappen (+145), Valtteri Bottas (+600), Sergio Pérez (+1600), Charles Leclerc (+3500), and Carlos Sainz, Lando Norris, and Pierre Gasly (all at +5000).

How to watch qualifying for the Turkish Grand Prix

Date: Saturday, Oct 9
Time: 8 a.m. ET
TV channel: ESPN2
Live stream: WatchESPN

Entry list

2021 Qatar Grand Prix, starting grid

Pos Driver Car No.
Pos Driver Car No.
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 44
2 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri 10
3 Fernando Alonso Alpine 14
4 Lando Norris McLaren 4
5 Carlos Sainz Ferrari 55
6 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 77
7 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing 33
8 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri 22
9 Esteban Ocon Alpine 31
10 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin 5
11 Sergio Perez Red Bull Racing 11
12 Lance Stroll Aston Martin 18
13 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 16
14 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren 3
15 George Russell Williams 63
16 Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo 7
17 Nicholas Latifi Williams 6
18 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo 99
19 Mick Schumacher Haas 47
20 Nikita Mazepin Haas 9