clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

F1 race time: What time is the 2021 Qatar Grand Prix, how long will the race last?

If you’re wondering when F1’s Qatar Grand Prix will start or how long it will last, we’ve got you covered.

Carlos Sainz of Spain driving the (55) Scuderia Ferrari SF21 in the Pitlane during qualifying ahead of the F1 Grand Prix of Qatar at Losail International Circuit on November 20, 2021 in Doha, Qatar. Photo by Hamad I Mohammed - Pool/Getty Images

UPDATE: We have two huge grid penalties heading into race day. Max Verstappen has received a five-grid penalty for failing to slow for double-waved yellow flags in qualifying. Valtteri Bottas has received a three-place grid penalty for failing to slow for single yellow flags. Pierre Gasly and Fernando Alonso move into the second and third positions, respectively, and Sainz moves into the fifth spot.

Formula One is in Qatar this weekend for the latest race, and an inaugural one in the region. The Qatar Grand Prix airs Sunday at 9 a.m. ET on ESPN2 and will be available via live stream at WatchESPN.

This is the first time the race has run, added in after COVID-19 resulted in the cancellation of the Australian Grand Prix. The Qatar Grand Prix will become a permanent F1 fixture in 2023 at a new track, but for this year we get to see it run at the Losail International Circuit just north of the capital city of Doha.

The race runs 57 laps at the Qatari track. The course is 5.380 km (3.343 mi) in length, which makes for a total race length of 306.660 km (190.549 mi). We don’t have previous race times since this is the first running of the race. For length comparison, last week’s Brazilian Grand Prix ran across 305.879 km (190.064 mi) of track. It was 71 laps due to a shorter track. Lewis Hamilton won the race with a time of 1:32:22.851.

Hamilton is a heavy favorite to win on Sunday at DraftKings Sportsbook. He is installed at -300, with Max Verstappen second with +330 odds. Valtteri Bottas is third at +650.

2021 Qatar Grand Prix, starting grid

Pos Driver Car No.
Pos Driver Car No.
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 44
2 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri 10
3 Fernando Alonso Alpine 14
4 Lando Norris McLaren 4
5 Carlos Sainz Ferrari 55
6 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 77
7 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing 33
8 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri 22
9 Esteban Ocon Alpine 31
10 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin 5
11 Sergio Perez Red Bull Racing 11
12 Lance Stroll Aston Martin 18
13 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 16
14 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren 3
15 George Russell Williams 63
16 Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo 7
17 Nicholas Latifi Williams 6
18 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo 99
19 Mick Schumacher Haas 47
20 Nikita Mazepin Haas 9