clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

F1 qualifying start time: What time qualifying begins for Mexican Grand Prix, how long it lasts on Saturday

F1 is back for the Mexican Grand Prix in Mexico City. Qualifying is scheduled for Saturday and we run through some key details.

Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team’s British driver Lewis Hamilton powers his car during the Formula One Mexico Grand Prix at the Hermanos Rodriguez circuit in Mexico City on October 30, 2016. Photo credit should read PEDRO PARDO/AFP via Getty Images

Formula One is in Mexico City this weekend for the latest race. The Mexican Grand Prix airs Sunday at 2 p.m. ET on ABC and will be available via live stream at WatchESPN. The race was canceled last year due to COVID-19 and makes its return this weekend.

Qualifying for the race will take place Saturday at 4 p.m. and will air on ESPNews and ESPN Deportes. F1 qualifying lasts one hour and is broken up into three periods with an intermission in between each period. The first period runs 20 minutes and features all 200 drivers trying to secure the fastest time. The five slowest cars in this period are eliminated and placed in spots 16-20 of the starting grid.

After an intermission, the second qualifying period is 15 minutes with the remaining 15 cars competing for a new fastest time. The five slowest cars in the second period are eliminated and placed in spots 11-15 of the starting grid. After a second intermission, the final ten drivers race over ten minutes to compete for the fastest time to secure pole position.

Max Verstappen is the favorite to secure the pole position at DraftKings Sportsbook, with odds installed at -165. Lewis Hamilton follows at +215 and he is followed by Sergio Perez at +900. Verstappen leads F1 with nine poles this season in 17 races. Hamilton follows with three, Valtteri Bottas and Charles Leclerc each have two, and Lando Norris has one.

How to watch qualifying for the Turkish Grand Prix

Date: Saturday, Nov 6
Time: 4 p.m. ET
TV channel: ESPNews, ESPN Deportes
Live stream: WatchESPN

Entry list

2021 Mexican Grand Prix, starting grid

Position Driver Car No.
Position Driver Car No.
1 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team 77
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team 44
3 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing 33
4 Sergio Pérez Red Bull Racing 11
5 Pierre Gasly Scuderia AlphaTauri Honda 10
6 Carlos Sainz, Jr. Scuderia Ferrari 55
7 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren F1 Team 3
8 Charles Leclerc Scuderia Ferrari 16
9 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin Cognizant F1 Team 5
10 Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo Racing ORLEN 7
11 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo Racing ORLEN 99
12 Fernando Alonso Alpine F1 Team 14
13 Nicholas Latifi Williams Racing 6
14 Mick Schumacher Uralkali Haas F1 Team 47
15 Nikita Mazepin Uralkali Haas F1 Team 9
16 George Russell Williams Racing 63
17 Yuki Tsunoda Scuderia AlphaTauri Honda 22
18 Lando Norris McLaren F1 Team 4
19 Esteban Ocon Alpine F1 Team 31
20 Lance Stroll Aston Martin Cognizant F1 Team 18