clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Breaking down the Mountain West Conference basketball tournament schedule

Taking a look at who, where and when for the Mountain West Conference Championship, which will be hosted on the campus of UNLV.

San Diego State Aztecs forward Matt Mitchell and Boise State Broncos guard Marcus Shaver Jr. battle for a rebound during the second half at Viejas Arena. Orlando Ramirez-USA TODAY Sports

The Mountain West Conference Championship stretches from March 10-13, and returns to the Thomas & Mack Center on the campus of UNLV once again. The tournament will include 11 teams, who will play single-elimination games with no reseeding.

The first round will be available only on the Mountain West Network on streaming, with the balance on CBS Sports Network until the final regular CBS.

San Diego State has been the favorite in the last two of these tournaments, but lost to Utah State in the final both times. The Aggies don’t have Sam Merrill anymore, but are still a threat to make it three in a row.

Here is the full bracket for the 2021 Mountain West Conference Tournament.

* All times ET

Wednesday, March 10, First Round

Game 1: No. 8 Wyoming 111-80 over No. 9 San Jose State
Game 2: No. 7 UNLV 80-52 over No. 10 Air Force
Game 3: No. 6 Fresno State 85-77 No. 11 New Mexico State

Thursday, March 11, Quarterfinals

Game 4: No. 1 San Diego State 69-66 over No. 8 Wyoming
Game 5: No. 5 Nevada 89-82 over No. 4 Boise State
Game 6: No. 2 Utah State 74-53 over No. 7 UNLV
Game 7: No. 3 Colorado State 72-62 over No. 6 Fresno State

Friday, March 12: Semifinals

Game 8: No. 1 San Diego State 77-70 over No. 5 Nevada
Game 9: No. 2 Utah State 62-59 over No. 3 Colorado State

Saturday, March 13: Championship game

Game 10: No. 1 San Diego State 68-57 over No. 2 Utah State

San Diego State claims the automatic bid from the Mountain West Conference, and now Utah State will have to sit and wait on Selection Sunday to see if they’re in the field of 68.