clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Full starting grid for 2021 Indy 500

The Indy 500 takes place on Sunday, May 30th this year. We’ve got the full racing order for Sunday’s race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

 Colton Herta, driver of the #88 Gleaners Food Bank of Indiana Andretti Harding Steinbrenner Autosport Honda, stands on the grid prior to the 104th running of the Indianapolis 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on August 23, 2020 in Indianapolis, Indiana. Photo by Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

The Indianapolis 500 returns on Sunday to its traditional Memorial Day weekend slot. Last year, the COVID-19 pandemic forced a delay and the race was run in August. That marked the first time the “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing” was held outside of the end of May. This year’s race will air Sunday, May 30 with the green flag dropping at 12:45 p.m. on NBC.

The event ran its annual qualifying run this past Sunday and Scott Dixon secured pole position for the race. Colton Herta and Rinus VeeKay will join him on the front row, followed by Ed Carpenter, Tony Kanaan, and Alex Palou in the second row.

Dixon is the race favorite at DraftKings Sportsbook, installed at +350. That’s a good deal better than the second best odds of +700 for Herta. Dixon won the 2008 Indy 500 and finished second a year ago after leading a race-high 111 laps. He finished third in 2018, eighth in 2016, and fourth in 2015. This is Herta’s third run at Indy having finished in eighth last year and 33rd in his debut the year before.

Here is the full lineup for Sunday’s 2021 Indy 500 race.

2021 Indy 500 starting grid

Row Driver 1 Driver 2 Driver 3
Row Driver 1 Driver 2 Driver 3
1 Scott Dixon Colton Herta Rinus VeeKay
2 Ed Carpenter Tony Kanaan Alex Palou
3 Ryan Hunter-Reay Helio Castroneves Marcus Ericsson
4 Alexander Rossi Ed Jones Patricio O'Ward
5 Pietro Fittipaldi Felix Rosenqvist Takuma Sato
6 James Hinchcliffe Scott McLaughlin Graham Rahal
7 Conor Daly Jack Harvey Josef Newgarden
8 J.R. Hildebrand Santino Ferrucci Juan Pablo Montoya
9 Marco Andretti Simon Pagenaud Sebastien Bourdais
10 Stefan Wilson Max Chilton Dalton Kellett
11 Sage Karam Will Power Simona de Silvestro