clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How the Copa America 2021 knockout bracket is shaping up as group play wraps

Here’s the teams that have qualified for the knockout round of the competition.

Brazil’s players celebrate after scoring against Colombia during the Conmebol Copa America 2021 football tournament group phase match, at the Nilton Santos Stadium in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, on June 23, 2021. Photo by CARL DE SOUZA/AFP via Getty Images

The 2021 Copa América is working its way through the group stage and will begin knockout stage play on July 2nd. The ten team tournament will advance eight teams into the quarterfinals and we are starting to see teams secure positioning in the knockout bracket.

Brazil, Colombia, Argentina, and Chile have all clinched a spot in the quarterfinals. In Group A, Argentina is 2-1-0 with seven points and Chile is 1-2-0 with five points, each with one game to play. In Group B, Brazil is 3-0-0 with nine points and one game to play, while Colombia is 1-1-2 with four points and no games left.

On Wednesday evening, Brazil became the first team to clinch a specific spot in the quarterfinals. They beat Colombia 2-1 with a goal in the 10th minute of second half stoppage time to clinch the top spot in Group B. They will face the fourth place team from Group A.

On Sunday evening, Group B played its final group matches to set half the knockout bracket. Peru defeated Venezuela 1-0 on a goal in the 48th minute to clinch second place and drop Colombia into third place. Peru will face the third place team from Group A and Colombia will face the second place team from Group A. Ecuador tied Brazil with a goal in the 53rd minute to secure fourth place. They will face the winner of Group A.

The full list of teams that have clinched a spot in the knockout stage include:

  • Brazil (Winner Group B)
  • Colombia (Group B)
  • Peru (Group B)
  • Ecuador (Group B)
  • Argentina (Group A)
  • Paraguay (Group A)
  • Chile (Group A)
  • Uruguay (Group A)

The knockout stage starts with the quarterfinals on July 2-3. The semifinals are on July 5-6. The third place game is July 9. The title game is July 10. Here’s a look at how the bracket is shaping up as the competition moves closer to crowning a champion. We’ll update it as teams clinch specific seeds in the quarterfinals.

Quarterfinals, Friday, July 2

  • Brazil (Winner Group B) vs. 4th Group A
  • Peru (Group B 2nd place) vs. 3rd Group A

Quarterfinals, Saturday, July 3

  • Winner Group A vs. Ecuador (Group B 4th place)
  • Runner-up Group A vs. Colombia (Group B 3rd place)