clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Going over history of winners in the Home Run Derby

We take you through the history of the HR Derby since its inception in 1985, highlighting the top winners throughout the years.

69th MLB All-Star Game Home Run Derby

Ever since 1985, baseball fans and players alike have been turning their eyes to the sky on the day before the All-Star Game to watch some of the sport’s best sluggers show off their power. Before this year’s event at homer-friendly Coors Field gets underway on Monday, here’s a rundown of Home Run Derby winners through its 36-year history.

List of winners

1985: Dave Parker, Cincinnati Reds (six total home runs)
1986 (tie): Wally Joyner, California Angels; Darryl Strawberry, New York Mets (four)
1987: Andre Dawson, Chicago Cubs (four)
1988: Cancelled due to rain
1989 (tie): Ruben Sierra, Texas Rangers; Eric Davis, Cincinnati Reds (three)
1990: Ryne Sandberg, Chicago Cubs (three)
1991: Cal Ripken Jr., Baltimore Orioles (12)
1992: Mark McGwire, Oakland Athletics (12)
1993: Juan Gonzalez, Texas Rangers (12)
1994: Ken Griffey Jr., Seattle Mariners (seven)
1995: Frank Thomas, Chicago White Sox (15)
1996: Barry Bonds, San Francisco Giants (17)
1997: Tino Martinez, New York Yankees (16)
1998: Ken Griffey Jr., Seattle Mariners (19)
1999: Ken Griffey Jr., Seattle Mariners (16)
2000: Sammy Sosa, Chicago Cubs (26)
2001: Luis Gonzalez, Arizona Diamondbacks (16)
2002: Jason Giambi, New York Yankees (24)
2003: Garret Anderson, Anaheim Angels (22)
2004: Miguel Tejada, Baltimore Orioles (27)
2005: Bobby Abreu, Philadelphia Phillies (41)
2006: Ryan Howard, Philadelphia Phillies (23)
2007: Vladimir Guerrero, Los Angeles Angels (17)
2008: Justin Morneau, Minnesota Twins (22)
2009: Prince Fielder, Milwaukee Brewers (23)
2010: David Ortiz, Boston Red Sox (32)
2011: Robinson Cano, New York Yankees (32)
2012: Prince Fielder, Detroit Tigers (28)
2013: Yoenis Cespedes, Oakland Athletics (32)
2014: Yoenis Cespedes, Oakland Athletics (28)
2015: Todd Frazier, Cincinnati Reds (39)
2016: Giancarlo Stanton, Miami Marlins (61)
2017: Aaron Judge, New York Yankees (47)
2018: Bryce Harper, Washington Nationals (45)
2019: Pete Alonso, New York Mets (57)
2020: Cancelled due to COVID-19
2021: Pete Alonso, New York Mets (74)

Who has won the Home Run Derby the most?

Ken Griffey Jr. is the only three-time winner of the event. He was the first player to win in back-to-back years (1998 and 1999). Alonso is the third to win consecutive titles and is one away from tying Griffey.

Who won the last Home Run Derby?

The Mets’ Pete Alonso, the 2019 winner, has remained the Derby’s defending champion since it was cancelled in 2020. He is the No. 5 seed in the 2021 Home Run Derby and will face No. 4 Salvador Perez in the first round on Monday night.