clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kyle Larson maintains projected NASCAR playoff lead after Verizon 200

There are two races left in the NASCAR regular season. We break down the standings following Sunday’s Verizon 200.

Kyle Larson, driver of the #5 Chevrolet, leads the field during the NASCAR Cup Series Verizon 200 at the Brickyard at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on August 15, 2021 in Indianapolis, Indiana. Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images

NASCAR wrapped up its Indianapolis weekend with part-time Cup Series driver A.J. Allmendinger winning the Verizon 200 at the Brickyard a day after finishing second to Austin Cindric in the Xfinity Series Pennzoil 150 at the Brickyard. Allmendinger is currently in second in the Xfinity playoff chase but will not be involved in the Cup Series playoff chase.

There are only two races remaining in the Cup series regular season, and the playoff race is tightening up. We did not see a change in the drivers placing in the top 16 standings, but we did see movement within the top 16. Kyle Larson, Martin Truex, Jr., Kyle Busch, and Chase Elliott remain settled in the top four spots. Alex Bowman leap-frogged William Byron to take over fifth place and Denny Hamlin moved ahead of Joey Logano for seventh place. At the bottom of the top 16, Tyler Reddick moved ahead of Kevin Harvick for 15th place.

NASCAR is headed to Michigan International Speedway this weekend for the FireKeepers Casino 400. Kevin Harvick is the defending champion, but Joey Logan has won the race twice in the past five seasons.

Here’s what the top 16 looks like with current projected playoff points:

  1. Kyle Larson: 2051
  2. Martin Truex, Jr: 2024
  3. Kyle Busch: 2022
  4. Chase Elliott: 2017
  5. Alex Bowman: 2015
  6. William Byron: 2015
  7. Denny Hamlin: 2015
  8. Joey Logano: 2014
  9. Ryan Blaney: 2012
  10. Brad Keselowski: 2008
  11. Kurt Busch: 2008
  12. Christopher Bell: 2005
  13. Michael Mcdowell: 2005
  14. Aric Almirola: 2005
  15. Tyler Reddick: 2003
  16. Kevin Harvick: 2002

Outside looking in: Austin Dillon, Matt DiBenedetto, Chris Buescher, Ross Chastain, Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.