clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Daytona 500 results: Who won the NASCAR race? Who wrecked?

The 2022 NASCAR season got underway on Sunday with the Daytona 500. We break down notable moments from the race, any significant wrecks, and who won.

WWE superstar Sasha Banks waves the green flag during the Daytona 500 on February 14, 2021 at Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach. Fl. Photo by David Rosenblum/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Final: Rookie Austin Cindric has won the 2022 Daytona 500.

Overtime: We’ve gone into overtime of the Great American Race.

Lap 194: We have another crash in the home stretch of the race and the caution flag has come out for the seventh time today.

Lap 189: We have a wreck in the home stretch of the 500 and went into the sixth caution of the day before the red flag came out.

Lap 180 down: 20 laps left and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. had grabbed the lead. Bubba Wallace has led for a good chunk of the past 10 laps. This is shaping up to be a good finish.

Lap 170 down: With 30 laps left, Austin Cindric holds on to the lead.

Lap 150: We have our fifth caution flag of the day with multiple cars crashing and spinning out at Turn 4.

Martin Truex Jr. was in the middle of it and his car has taken damage.

Lap 130 down: Martin Truex Jr. takes Stage 2 and is positioning himself nicely for his first Daytona 500 win.

Lap 100 down: We’re halfway through the race at Lap 100 and Ryan Blaney is in the top spot with Austin Cindric and Chris Buescher trailing right behind him.

Lap 63: We have our third caution of the afternoon on Lap 63 and that took us into the end of Stage 1. It was an eight-car crash that sent Harrison Burton flying. Martin Truex Jr. ended up winning the first stage.

Lap 57: We’re back to green with a handful of laps left in Stage 1.

Lap 52: We’ve gone into another caution. Justin Haley had his wheel pop off.

Lap 50 down: We’re a fourth of a way through the race and Kyle Busch has taken the lead.

Lap 23: The first caution flag is out at Daytona. The delay was caused by the rear right tire of Kaz Grala’s car flying off. The Fox announce crew said that it could result in a four-race suspension for Grala’s pit crew chief.

Lap 1 down: Brad Keselowski moved past Kyle Larson and claimed the first lap while Larson has slipped down to No. 10.

Newly minted NFL Hall of Famer Charles Woodson kicked off the festivities as the Grand Marshal of the Daytona 500.

The 2022 NASCAR regular season kicks off on Sunday, February 20 with the Super Bowl of stock car racing. The Daytona 500 gets the season underway on Sunday with the green flag dropping at approximately 2:30 p.m. ET. The race airs on FOX.

We’ll be providing live updates of notable moments. There will be wrecks, dramatic passes, and somebody taking the checkered flag just before dinner time on the east coast. We’ll drop in video and provide leaderboard updates where relevant.

Defending Cup Series champion Kyle Larson claimed the pole position after putting up the fastest time in Wednesday qualifying. Alex Bowman was second fastest and joins him on the front row to open the race.

Larson and Denny Hamlin are co-favorites to win at DraftKings Sportsbook a few minutes before the green flag drops. Hamlin is starting in the 30th position. Joey Logano follows at +1000, then Chase Elliott (+1100), Ryan Blaney (+1200), and Brad Keselowski (+1400). Michael McDowell is the defending champ and installed at +2800 to win. He’s starting in the sixth position on Sunday.

2022 Daytona 500 starting lineup

Position Car No. Driver How Spot is Determined
Position Car No. Driver How Spot is Determined
1 5 Kyle Larson Fastest in qualifying
2 48 Alex Bowman Second fastest in qualifying
3 6 Brad Keselowski Duel No. 1 winner
4 17 Chris Buescher Duel No. 2 winner
5 2 Austin Cindric Duel No. 1 second place
6 34 Michael McDowell Duel No. 2 second place
7 12 Ryan Blaney Duel No. 1 third place
8 21 Harrison Burton Duel No. 2 third place
9 14 Chase Briscoe Duel No. 1 fourth place
10 18 Kyle Busch Duel No. 2 fourth place
11 9 Chase Elliott Duel No. 1 fifth place
12 20 Christopher Bell Duel No. 2 fifth place
13 43 Erik Jones Duel No. 1 sixth place
14 19 Martin Truex Jr. Duel No. 2 sixth place
15 8 Tyler Reddick Duel No. 1 eighth place
16 23 Bubba Wallace Duel No. 2 seventh place
17 45 Kurt Busch Duel No. 1 ninth place
18 17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Duel No. 2 eighth place
19 1 Ross Chastain Duel No. 1 10th place
20 22 Joey Logano Duel No. 2 ninth place
21 99 Daniel Suarez Duel No. 1 11th place
22 4 Kevin Harvick Duel. No. 2 10th place
23 24 William Byron Duel No. 1 12th place
24 7 Corey LaJoie Duel No. 2 11th place
25 31 Justin Haley Duel No. 1 13th place
26 42 Ty Dillon Duel No. 2 12th place
27 77 Landon Cassill Duel No. 1 14th place
28 44 Greg Biffle* Duel No. 2 13th place
29 38 Todd Gilliland Duel No. 1 15th place
30 11 Denny Hamlin Duel No. 2 15th place
31 41 Cole Custer Duel No. 1 16th place
32 51 Cody Ware Duel No. 2 16th place
33 16 Daniel Hemric Duel No. 1 17th place
34 15 David Ragan Duel No. 2 17th place
35 50 Kaz Grala* Duel No. 1 18th place
36 3 Austin Dillon Duel No. 2 18th place
37 78 BJ McLeod Duel No. 1 20th place
38 10 Aric Almirola Duel No. 2 19th place
39 62 Noah Gragson* Fastest Open car in qualifying (not in via Duels)
40 27 Jacques Villeneuve* Second-fastest Open car in qualifying (not in via Duels)