clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR qualifying: Starting lineups for four qualifying heats on Sunday at Busch Light Clash

The Busch Light Clash is set in LA this year, and there will be plenty of action on the new Coliseum track before the official race begins. Here’s a look at the starting grid for qualifying heats ahead of the race.

A general view during practice for the NASCAR Cup Series Busch Light Clash at Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum on February 05, 2022 in Los Angeles, California. Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

NASCAR is back! The 2022 regular season does not start for two more weeks but we get an exhibition race at the LA Coliseum to get us ready. The Busch Light Clash normally happens in Daytona, but this year, NASCAR has moved it to the Southern California football stadium.

The race is scheduled for Sunday evening, but a day ahead we start a three-part qualifying process. The first stage is single-car qualifying on Saturday night to determine the starting lineups for four qualifying heats that will take place on Sunday.

The Saturday single-car qualifying gets underway at 8:30 p.m. ET and will air on FS1. We’ll provide updates over the course of the qualifying round until we have the four starting grids. The fastest driver claims pole #1, the second fastest gets pole #2 and so forth. The fifth fastest driver claims the #2 spot in the first race, the sixth fastest driver claims the #2 spot in the second race, and so on through the 36 drivers.

For the time being, here is the list of drivers and the order in which they are running their qualifying lap. We’ll update this with the final orders as the results come in. Chase Elliott and Kyle Larson come into qualifying as the race favorite at DraftKings Sportsbook. They are +600, followed by Kyle Busch at +650.

2022 Busch Light Clash qualifying heats, starting lineups

Heat (Pos) Car No. Driver Team Qualifying time
Heat (Pos) Car No. Driver Team Qualifying time
1(1) 18 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing 13.745
1(2) 99 Daniel Suarez TrackHouse Racing Team 13.952
1(3) 47 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. JTG Daugherty Racing 13.962
1(4) 12 Ryan Blaney Team Penske 14.007
1(5) 11 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing 14.053
1(6) 10 Aric Almirola Stewart-Haas Racing 14.151
1(7) 78 BJ McLeod Live Fast Motorsports 14.235
1(8) 38 Todd Gilliland Front Row Motorsports 14.304
1(9) 1 Ross Chastain Trackhouse Racing Team 14.451
2(1) 8 Tyler Reddick Richard Childress Racing 13.761
2(2) 41 Cole Custer Stewart-Haas Racing 13.953
2(3) 21 Harrison Burton Wood Brothers Racing 13.965
2(4) 48 Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports 14.014
2(5) 23 Bubba Wallace 23XI Racing 14.076
2(6) 3 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing 14.157
2(7) 14 Chase Briscoe Stewart-Haas Racing 14.247
2(8) 6 Brad Keselowski Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing 14.305
2(9) 19 Martin Truex Jr. Joe Gibbs Racing 14.466
3(1) 31 Justin Haley Kaulig Racing 13.891
3(2) 9 Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports 13.954
3(3) 24 William Byron Hendrick Motorsports 13.973
3(4) 20 Christopher Bell Joe Gibbs Racing 14.023
3(5) 16 AJ Allmendinger Kaulig Racing 14.12
3(6) 4 Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing 14.158
3(7) 17 Chris Buescher Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing 14.251
3(8) 7 Corey LaJoie Spire Motorsports 14.326
3(9) 51 Cody Ware Rick Ware Racing 14.471
4(1) 22 Joey Logano Team Penske 13.949
4(2) 5 Kyle Larson Hendrick Motorsports 13.957
4(3) 34 Michael McDowell Front Row Motorsports 13.978
4(4) 77 Landon Cassill Spire Motorsports 14.05
4(5) 2 Austin Cindric Team Penske 14.148
4(6) 43 Erik Jones Petty GMS Racing 14.194
4(7) 15 Ryan Preece Rick Ware Racing 14.277
4(8) 45 Kurt Busch 23XI Racing 14.437
4(9) 42 Ty Dillon Petty GMS Racing 14.532