clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR starting lineup: Chris Buescher claims pole in qualifying for Duramax Drydene 400

The Duramax Drydene 400 takes place on Sunday, May 1 this year. We’ve got updates as qualifying settles the starting lineup for Sunday’s race at the Dover International Speedway.

Ryan Blaney (#12 Team Penske Wurth Ford) leads the cars through Turn 1 during the running of the NASCAR Cup Series GEICO 500 race on April 24, 2022 at the Talladega Superspeedway in Talladega, Alabama. Photo by David J. Griffin/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Round 2 results: Chris Buescher claimed the pole position for Sunday’s race. He had the fastest time in the second round of qualifying, with the top ten as follows. The full starting lineup is at the bottom of the page.

  1. Chris Buescher
  2. Denny Hamlin
  3. Kyle Larson
  4. Chase Elliott
  5. Ryan Blaney
  6. Alex Bowman
  7. Ross Chastain
  8. Daniel Suarez
  9. Bubba Wallace
  10. Kyle Busch

Round 1, group B results: The top five first round finishers in group B were Chase Elliott, Kyle Larson, Alex Bowman, Kyle Busch, and Daniel Suarez. They advance to the second of qualifying to determine the top ten in the starting lineup.

Round 1, group A results: The top five first round finishers in group A were Ryan Blaney, Denny Hamlin, Chris Buescher, Bubba Wallace, and Kevin Harvick. They advance to the second of qualifying after group B wraps up its round.

The 2022 Duramax Drydene 400 is set to get underway on Sunday, May 1st. The “Monster Mile” at Dover International Speedway in Delaware will play host to this race. The Duramax Drydene 400 starts at 3 p.m. ET on Sunday and will be available to watch on FS1 and the FOX Sports app. Qualifying for the race is set for 11:15 a.m. ET to broadcast on FS1.

Qualifying will be a little different for the Duramax Drydene 400. All of the drivers will be split into two groups. The first group will run a single, car two-lap qualifier with their fastest time counting. The five fastest drivers will move on to the final round of qualifying. This process will repeat with the drivers in Group B with their five fastest advancing to the next stage of qualifying. The final round will be another single, car two-lap qualifier that will determine the race grid for the first five rows of Sunday’s race including pole position.

Kyle Larson is favored to win, installed at +450 on the board at DraftKings Sportsbook. He’s followed by William Byron and Chase Elliot at +900. Last year’s race winner Alex Bowman is in tow at +1000.

Here’s a look at the full entry list for the Duramax Drydene 400, which we’ll update with the official starting lineup when qualifying wraps on Saturday.

2022 Duramax Drydene 400 Entry List

Pos Driver Car #
Pos Driver Car #
1 Chris Buescher 17
2 Denny Hamlin 11
3 Kyle Larson 5
4 Chase Elliott 9
5 Ryan Blaney 12
6 Alex Bowman 48
7 Ross Chastain 1
8 Daniel Suarez 99
9 Bubba Wallace 23
10 Kyle Busch 18
11 Kevin Harvick 4
12 Austin Cindric 2
13 Ryan Preece 15
14 Justin Haley 31
15 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 47
16 Kurt Busch 45
17 Christopher Bell 20
18 Martin Truex, Jr. 19
19 A.J. Allmendinger 16
20 Brad Keselowski 6
21 Corey LaJoie 7
22 Joey Logano 22
23 Chase Briscoe 14
24 Austin Dillon 3
25 Erik Jones 43
26 Tyler Reddick 8
27 Aric Almirola 10
28 Cody Ware 51
29 Michael McDowell 34
30 Cole Custer 41
31 Ty Dillon 42
32 B.J. McLeod 78
33 William Byron 24
34 Todd Gilliland 38
35 Harrison Burton 21
36 Josh Bilicki 77