clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR results: Joey Logano wins Enjoy Illinois 300 Cup Series race in St. Louis

NASCAR is running the 2022 Enjoy Illinois 300 at the World Wide Technology Raceway on Sunday. We break down notable moments from the race, any significant wrecks, and who wins the overall race and each stage.

Christopher Bell, driver of the #20 Rheem Toyota, drives during practice for the NASCAR Cup Series Enjoy Illinois 300 at WWT Raceway on June 03, 2022 in Madison, Illinois. Photo by Jeff Curry/Getty Images

Final Update: Joey Logano wins the Enjoy Illinois 300 in overtime. Kyle Busch, Kurt Busch, Ryan Blaney, Aric Almirola, Martin Truex Jr., Erik Jones, Ross Chastain, Christopher Bell and AJ Allmendinger round out the top-10 finishers.

Stage 3, Lap 96: Kevin Harvick had a car issue and hit the wall hard. The caution flag is out and Harvick’s day is done. This race will be headed to overtime.

Stage 3, Lap 82: Cole Custer spun out after Gilliland got into the rear part of his car. Parker Kligerman gets the free pass.

Stage 3, Lap 61: Ricky Stenhouse Jr. spins out after getting into the wall. This is the eighth caution of the race and Tyler Reddick will get the free pass to get back to the lead lap.

Stage 3, Lap 43: Tyler Reddick spins out causing the first caution of the final stage of the race. Josh Bilicki will receive the free pass.

Start of Stage 3: Hamlin is 10 laps down and Lajoie is out of the race with engine trouble, but otherwise everyone is on the lead lap.

Stage 2 Results: Kurt Busch wins the second stage of the Enjoy Illinois 300. He is followed by Martin Truex Jr., Kyle Busch, Kyle Larson, Aric Almirola, Christopher Bell, Daniel Suarez, Cole Custer, Erik Jones and Ryan Blaney.

Stage 2, Lap 84 Caution: Ricky Stenhouse Jr. gets into the left rear bumper of Bubba Wallace spinning him.

Stage 2, Lap 57 Caution: Ross Chastain in the news again as he spins Chase Elliott who also causes Bubba Wallace to spin. BJ McLeod with the free pass.

Stage 2, Lap 49 Caution: Ryan Blaney had his left rear tire blow causing the second caution of the race. Josh Bilicki gets the free pass.

Stage 2, Lap 22 Caution: Ross Chastain just knocked Denny Hamlin into the wall causing the first caution of the race. In the narrow pit road, Zane Smith almost got turned around.

Stage 1 Results: Austin Cindric wins the first stage of the race. He is followed by Ryan Blaney, Tyler Reddick, Denny Hamlin, Ross Chastain, Aric Almirola, Joey Logano, Kyle Busch, Chase Elliott and Christopher Bell for the current top-10.

Chase Briscoe started on the pole, but a tire issue sees him a lap down.

Update: We are underway with the first stage of the Enjoy Illinois 300!

NASCAR will run the 2022 Enjoy Illinois 300 on Sunday, June 5 at World Wide Technology Raceway. The green flag is set to drop at approximately 3:30 p.m. ET, with the race airing on FS1.

We’ll be providing live updates of notable moments. There will be wrecks, dramatic passes, and somebody taking the checkered flag just before dinner time on the east coast. We’ll drop in video and provide leaderboard updates where relevant.

This is the inaugural Enjoy Illinois 300, and it is also the first Cup Series race of any kind at the World Wide Technology Raceway — which is also known as Gateway Motorsports Park.

The Cup Series comes into the race with Chase Elliott leading the points standings, with Ross Chastain and Kyle Busch second and third, respectively. Denny Hamlin won last weekend’s Coca-Cola 600 to claim his second win of the season and join Chastain and William Byron as the only multi-race winners this season.

Chase Briscoe is the favorite to win the race at DraftKings Sportsbook, with odds installed at +800. Ryan Blaney follows at +850, Joey Logano is at +900, and Kyle Larson, Tyler Reddick, and Ross Chastain follow at +1000.

2022 Enjoy Illinois 300 Starting Lineup

Pos. Driver Car #
Pos. Driver Car #
1 Chase Briscoe 14
2 Austin Cindric 2
3 Christopher Bell 20
4 Tyler Reddick 8
5 Ryan Blaney 12
6 Denny Hamlin 11
7 Joey Logano 22
8 Aric Almirola 10
9 Harrison Burton 21
10 Ross Chastain 1
11 Kurt Busch 45
12 Kyle Busch 18
13 Martin Truex Jr. 19
14 Cole Custer 41
15 Kyle Larson 5
16 Chase Elliott 9
17 Michael McDowell 34
18 Bubba Wallace 23
19 Corey Lajoie 7
20 Kevin Harvick 4
21 Erik Jones 43
22 Todd Gilliland 38
23 Daniel Suarez 99
24 William Byron 24
25 Alex Bowman 48
26 Ty Dillon 42
27 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 47
28 Justin Haley 31
29 Austin Dillon 3
30 Brad Keselowski 6
31 Cody Ware 51
32 Zane Smith 17
33 Josh Bilicki 77
34 B.J. McLeod 78
35 Ben Rhodes 16
36 Parker Kligerman 15