clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR starting lineup: Kyle Larson claims pole position for Henry 180 Xfinity race at Road America

The Henry 180 of the NASCAR Xfinity Series takes place on Saturday, July 2 this year. We bring you all of the live updates from the qualifying event.

Garrett Smithley, driver of the #36 Rich Mar Florist Chevrolet, drives during the NASCAR Xfinity Series Alsco Uniforms 300 at Charlotte Motor Speedway on May 28, 2022 in Concord, North Carolina. Photo by James Gilbert/Getty Images

Final round update: Kyle Larson claimed the pole position for Saturday’s race. The ten drivers finished as follows and will start in the top ten position on Saturday.:

  1. Kyle Larson
  2. Ty Gibbs
  3. Riley Herbst
  4. Cole Custer
  5. Sam Mayer
  6. Sheldon Creed
  7. Noah Gragson
  8. Sammy Smith
  9. Tyler Reddick
  10. Austin Hill

Group B update: The five fastest drivers in Group B were Kyle Larson, Riley Herbst, Noah Gragson, Sammy Smith, and Austin Hill. They advance to the second and final round of qualifying.

Group A update: The five fastest drivers in Group A were Sam Mayer, Cole Custer, Tyler Reddick, Ty Gibbs, and Sheldon Creed. They advance to the second and final round of qualifying.

The NASCAR Xfinity Series heads to Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin this weekend for the 2022 Henry 180. This will be the 13th running of this race and it is 45 laps around the 14-turn road course. Kyle Busch is the reigning winner and he finished the 2021 race in 2:25:47. While the race will take place on Saturday, July 2nd at 2:30 p.m. ET, qualifying will run at 6 p.m. ET on Friday, July 1st and will air on USA.

Friday’s qualifying format will feature cars being split into two groups. The drivers in Group A will have 15-minutes to set their fastest lap. The top-five fastest drivers will advance to the final round. The drivers in Group B will then have 15 minutes to set their fastest single lap time with the top five also advancing to the final round of qualifying. The remaining ten drivers will then have a new 10-minute time frame to set a new fastest single-lap time with the fastest driver earning the pole position.

Prior to qualifying, Kyle Larson has the best odds to win the race installed at +250 at DraftKings Sportsbook. He is followed by A.J. Allmendinger (+400), Ty Gibbs (+700), Cole Custer (+1200) and Noah Gragson (+1200). Busch isn’t expected to partake in the race and won’t look to defend his current title.

Here is the full entry list for Saturday’s 2022 Henry 180 Xfinity Series race. We’ll update it with the full starting lineup as qualifying wraps.

2022 Henry 180 starting lineup

Pos. Driver Car #
Pos. Driver Car #
1 Kyle Larson 17
2 Ty Gibbs 54
3 Riley Herbst 98
4 Cole Custer 07
5 Sam Mayer 1
6 Sheldon Creed 2
7 Noah Gragson 9
8 Sammy Smith 18
9 Tyler Reddick 48
10 Austin Hill 21
11 Jeremy Clements 51
12 Sage Karam 45
13 Josh Bilicki 44
14 Brandon Jones 19
15 Justin Allgaier 7
16 Josh Berry 8
17 Brett Moffitt 02
18 Alex Labbe 36
19 Anthony Alfredo 23
20 Landon Cassill 10
21 Preston Pardus 91
22 Daniel Hemric 11
23 Andy Lally 08
24 Kyle Weatherman 34
25 Miguel Paludo 88
26 Ty Dillon 6
27 Ryan Sieg 39
28 Will Rodgers 13
29 Chris Dyson 35
30 Bayley Currey 4
31 Josh Williams 78
32 Myatt Snider 31
33 Patrick Gallagher 38
34 Jeb Burton 27
35 John Hunter Nemechek 26
36 Brandon Brown 68
37 Joe Graf Jr 5
38 AJ Allmendinger 16