clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tour de France results: Who won stage 1, who leads overall standings

The Tour de France starts on Friday with an individual time trial. We break down pre-race favorites and who claims the yellow jersey in Stage 1.

Yves Lampaert of Belgium and Quick-Step - Alpha Vinyl Team celebrates at podium as Yellow Leader Jersey winner during the 109th Tour de France 2022, Stage 1 a 13,2km individual time trial stage from Copenhagen to Copenhagen / ITT / #TDF2022 / #WorldTour / on July 01, 2022 in Copenhagen, Denmark. Photo by Tim de Waele/Getty Images

Stage 1 of the 2022 Tour de France is officially in the books. Yves Lampaert finished the 13.2 km route in 15 minutes in 17 seconds, nabbing a five-second lead on Wout Van Aert, who finished second. Lampaert is awarded 20 points for his first-place finish.

The 2022 Tour de France is officially underway. Stage 1 got going at 10 a.m. ET in Copenhagen, marking the first time the biggest cycling race in the world has set foot in Denmark. The entire Tour will air via live stream on Peacock, and the early stages are being broadcast on USA Network.

The first stage this year is a time trial through the streets of Copenhagen. First-time Tour rider Filippo Ganna entered Friday’s opener as the favorite to claim the fastest time in the time trial. He was installed at +110 by DraftKings Sportsbook. Stefan Bissegger was second at +225 and Wout Van Aert was third at +250. There was a drop-off from there to Stefan Kung at +1200. The pre-race favorite to win the 2022 Tour de France general classification, Tadej Pogačar, is +2800 to claim a Stage 1 victory.

This is an individual time trial, and so the cyclists get going one at a time and race the 13.2 kilometers. The fastest time will claim the yellow jersey to open the race and €11,000 in prize money. Below are the top ten finishers from Stage 1.

Stage 1 top finishers

  1. Yves Lampaert: 15 min, 17 sec
  2. Wout Van Aert: 15:22
  3. Tadej Pogačar: 15:24
  4. Filippo Ganna: 15:27
  5. Mathieu Van Der Poel: 15:30
  6. Mads Pedersen: 15:32
  7. Jonas Vingegaard: 15:32
  8. Primoz Roglič: 15:33
  9. Bauke Mollema: 15:34
  10. Dylan Teuns: 15:37