clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tour de France results: Who won Stage 17, who leads overall standings

We break down the results from Stage 17 on Wednesday.

Tadej Pogacar of Slovenia and UAE Team Emirates - White Best Young Rider Jersey celebrates at finish line as stage winner ahead of Jonas Vingegaard Rasmussen of Denmark and Team Jumbo - Visma - Yellow Leader Jersey during the 109th Tour de France 2022, Stage 17 a 129,7km stage from Saint-Gaudens to Peyragudes 1580m / #TDF2022 / #WorldTour / on July 20, 2022 in Peyragudes, France. Photo by Michael Steele/Getty Images

With a final climb up a 16% gradient in Peyragudes, Jonas Vingegaard in the yellow jersey continued to stay glued to the rear wheel of the second place Tadej Pogacar the entire day.

Pogacar never truly attacked as part of the three-man lead group with American Brandon McNulty of Team UAE’s hoping to act as a domestique for just his teammate, but also pulling Vingegaard as well.

The top two riders in the General Classification crossed the line 1-2, with Pogacar taking the stage win, and Jonas Vingegaard happily conceding only four bonus seconds from what was his 2:22 overall advantage entering today’s action. 2018 Tour winner Geraint Thomas likely lost any chance he had, as he finished 2:07 further behind the leaders today, and is now 4:56 behind with just three stages remaining.

Wout Van Aert also locked up the green jersey after an intermediate sprint, as he is far enough ahead on points he cannot be caught. The Belgian just needs to be on his bike across the line in Paris to be the winner.

Below are the top finishers from Stage 17.

Stage 17 top finishers

  1. T. Pogacar, Uae Team Emirates: 03h 25’ 51’’
  2. J. Vingegaard, Jumbo - Visma: Same Time
  3. B. Mcnulty, Uae Team Emirates: 03h 26’ 23’’
  4. G. Thomas, Ineos Grenadiers: 03h 27’ 58’’
  5. A. Lutsenko, Astana - Qazaqstan Team: 03h 28’ 25’’
  6. R. Bardet, Team Dsm: 03h 28’ 29’’
  7. D. Gaudu, Groupama - Fdj: 03h 29’ 18’’
  8. A. Vlasov, Bora - Hansgrohe: 03h 29’ 23’’
  9. L. Meintjes, Intermarche - Wanty - Gobert Materiaux: Same Time
  10. N. Quintana, Team Arkea - Samsic: Same Time