clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tour de France results: Who won Stage 5, who leads overall standings

A four-man breakaway sprints at the end, and Australian Simon Clarke picks up his first stage win.

Wout Van Aert of Belgium and Team Jumbo - Visma Yellow Leader Jersey attacks in the breakaway ahead of Adam Yates of United Kingdom and Team INEOS Grenadiers during the 109th Tour de France 2022, Stage 4 a 171,5km stage from Dunkerque to Calais. Photo by Tim de Waele/Getty Images

As part of a four-man breakaway, American Neilson Powless pulled himself into second place for the yellow jersey for Team EF Education-Easypost following a failed sprint for the line today in Arenberg Porte du Hainaut.

Australia’s Simon Clarke looked to be no better than third with less than half a kilometer remaining, but a tremendous push at the line got him the photo finish victory over Taco van der Hoorn of The Netherlands.

Despite the push by Powless, Wout van Aert is still the leader in the maillot jaune with a :13 lead.

Below are the top ten finishers from Stage 5 of the 2022 Tour de France.

Stage 5 top finishers

  1. Simon Clarke: 3 hours, 13 minutes, 35 seconds
  2. Taco van der Hoorn: Same Time
  3. Edvald Boasson Hagen: +0:00:02
  4. Neilson Powless: +0:00:04
  5. Magnus Nielsen: +0:00:30
  6. Jasper Stuyven: +0:00:51
  7. Tadej Pogacar: +0:00:51
  8. Jasper Philipsen: +0:01:04
  9. Fabio Jakobsen: +0:01:04
  10. Luca Mozzato: +0:01:04