clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

F1 qualifying start time: What time sprint qualifying begins for the Austrian Grand Prix, how long it lasts on Friday

F1 is back for the Austrian Grand Prix in Spielberg, Styria. Qualifying is scheduled for Friday ahead of Saturday’s sprint qualifying run and we run through some key details.

Formula 1 - Austrian Grand Prix - FP3 Photo by Andrea Diodato/NurPhoto via Getty Images

Formula One is heading to Austria for the 11th race and the second sprint qualifying of the 2022 season. The Austrian Grand Prix, Red Bull's home race takes place in Spielberg, Austria at the Red Bull Ring circuit. There are 71 laps, each 4.318 km (2.68 miles) for a total of 306.452 km (190.42 miles).

There are only three sprint qualifying races in the 2022 F1 season. The sprint qualifiers are designed to be quicker races with drivers going all-out from start to finish with no need to pit. The sprint qualifiers last 100 km which will be 24 laps at the Red Bull Ring. Points are awarded for the top eight drivers and the results set the grid for Sunday’s race.

The sprint race is scheduled for Saturday at 10:30 a.m. ET, but Friday brings qualifying for the sprint race at 11 a.m. on ESPNU. Max Verstappen is the favorite to win the race with -110 odds at DraftKings Sportsbook. Verstappen has won three of the last four races here at the Red Bull Ring. Charles Leclerc follows with +220 odds. Valtteri Bottas who has won two of the last five races in previous years when he was with Mercedes is +15000 to win and +190 to finish in the top six.

How to watch qualifying for the Austrian Grand Prix

Date: Friday, July 8
Time: 11 a.m. ET
TV channel: ESPNU
Live stream: WatchESPN

2022 Austrian Grand Prix starting grid

Pos Driver Car # Manufacturer
Pos Driver Car # Manufacturer
1 Max Verstappen 1 RBPT
2 Charles Leclerc 16 Ferrari
3 Carlos Sainz, Jr. 55 Ferrari
4 George Russell 63 Mercedes
5 Sergio Pérez 11 RBPT
6 Esteban Ocon 31 Renault
7 Kevin Magnussen 20 Ferrari
8 Lewis Hamilton 44 Mercedes
9 Mick Schumacher 47 Ferrari
10 Valtteri Bottas 77 Ferrari
11 Lando Norris 4 Mercedes
12 Daniel Ricciardo 3 Mercedes
13 Lance Stroll 18 Mercedes
14 Guanyu Zhou 24 Ferrari
15 Pierre Gasly 10 RBPT
16 Alexander Albon 23 Mercedes
17 Yuki Tsunoda 22 RBPT
18 Nicholas Latifi 6 Mercedes
19 Sebastian Vettel 5 Mercedes
20 Fernando Alonso 14 Renault