clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Who are the officials for Chargers-Jaguars in Wild Card Round of 2023 NFL Playoffs

Here is a look at the referee and other officials for the Chargers-Jaguars Wild Card Round playoff game.

Referee Shawn Smith #14 signals for a penalty during an NFL football game between the Philadelphia Eagles and the Green Bay Packers at Lincoln Financial Field on November 27, 2022 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Photo by Kevin Sabitus/Getty Images

The Los Angeles Chargers and Jacksonville Jaguars face off on Saturday evening to close out the first day of the 2023 NFL Playoffs. This will be the 4/5 game of the Wild Card round with the winner likely facing the Chiefs in the Divisional Round unless we see the Bengals and/or Bills upset on Sunday.

The game kicks off at 8:15 p.m. ET at TIAA Bank Stadium in Jacksonville. The Chargers are 2.5-point road favorites DraftKings Sportsbook and the total is installed at 47.5 LA is -140 on the moneyline while Jacksonville is +120.

The Chargers were flagged the fourth-fewest times this past season while the Jaguars were tied for 12th fewest. Shawn Smith will be the lead referee for the game while Clete Blakeman will serve as the alternate referee. Smith is in his fifth season as a referee and will be making his seventh appearance in the playoffs. His resume includes four Wild Card Round games, one Divisional Round game, and the 2019 NFC title game between the Eagles and Vikings.

Smith served as referee for two Chargers games this season and on Jaguars game. He led an officiating crew for Chargers-Raiders that called eight penalties for 32 yards and the crew for 49ers-Chargers that called six penalties for 57 yards. His crew called a total of six penalties for 55 yards in Jaguars-Cowboys.

Below is the full officiating crew for the Chargers-Jaguars game. All information comes courtesy of Football Zebras.

Referee: Shawn Smith
Umpire: Barry Anderson
Down judge: Tom Stephan
Line judge: Mike Dolce
Field judge: Joe Blubaugh
Side judge: David Meslow
Back judge: Tony Josselyn
Replay official: Mike Wimmer
Replay assistant: Sebrina Brunson
Alternate ref: Clete Blakeman
Alternate U: Alan Eck
Alternate LJ: Daniel Gallagher
Alternate FJ: Clay Reynard
Alternate BJ: Brad Freeman