clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

When was the last time that the SB winner had a 1,000-yard rusher?

We discuss LeGarrette Blunt being the last 1,000 yard rusher to win a Super Bowl in the same season.

LeGarrette Blount #29 of the New England Patriots take the handoff from Tom Brady #12 against the Atlanta Falcons during Super Bowl 51 at NRG Stadium on February 5, 2017 in Houston, Texas. The Patriots defeat the Atlanta Falcons 34-28 in overtime. Photo by Focus on Sport/Getty Images

The Kansas City Chiefs will face the Philadelphia Eagles on Sunday, Feb. 12 for Super Bowl 57. There is no shortage of storylines for this matchup. Andy Reid coaching against his former team, Jason and Travis Kelce facing each other, and Patrick Mahomes trying to break the MVP Super Bowl curse are just some examples.

A lesser-known storyline is that Eagles RB Miles Sanders has the chance to complete a feat that hasn’t been done in five years. Sanders has the chance to be the first 1,000-yard rusher to win the Super Bowl in the same season since 2016. That year, RB LeGarrette Blount and the New England Patriots pulled off the now-famous 28-3 comeback against the Atlanta Falcons.

Blount only started eight of the team’s 16 games in 2016. Still, he ran the ball 299 times for 1,161 yards and a whopping 18 touchdowns. Despite being a 1,000-yard rusher, he struggled in the Super Bowl, rushing only 11 times for 31 yards as the team got out to a slow start. Since that Super Bowl, the Lombardi Trophy winner didn’t have a 1,000-yard regular season rusher on the roster.

Sanders has a shot at changing that on Sunday. He is in a contract year and picked a great time to have the best season of his career. Sanders carried the ball 259 times for 1,269 yards and 11 touchdowns in the regular season. While he didn’t feel like a focal point of the offense surrounded by QB Jalen Hurts and WRs A.J. Brown and DeVonta Smith, he played a big role in getting the team to the Super Bowl.

This article can also be found in our Ultimate Guide to Super Bowl 57, presented by Frank’s Red Hot.