clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR starting lineup: Ross Chastain wins pole position for XPEL 225 Truck Series race

We’ve got updates as qualifying settles the starting lineup for Saturday’s XPEL 225 at the Circuit of the Americas.

AUTO: MAR 18 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Fr8 208

Final Round Update: Ross Chastain wins the pole position for the 2023 XPEL 225. This is his fourth career pole in NASCAR’s Truck Series.

Group B Update: Christian Eckes, Kyle Busch, Carson Hocevar, Zane Smith and Kaz Grala are heading to the final round of qualifying.

Group A Update: Ross Chastain, Ty Majeski, Nick Sanchez, Grant Enfinger and Tanner Gray advance to the final round of qualifying.

The 2023 XPEL 225 will be held on Saturday, March 25. The race will be back at the Circuit of the Americas for the third year in a row. This year’s event will get underway at 1:30 p.m. ET on Saturday, with qualifying occurring the day before. Qualifying, currently, isn’t scheduled to be televised or live steamed.

This will be the first road course race of the season. Because of the 3.426-mile circuit, there is an extended qualifying season. The race field will be split into two groups following a 20-minute warm-up/practice session. The trucks in Group A will have 15 minutes to set their fastest possible lap on the course. The five fastest drivers will advance to the final round of qualifying. This process will be repeated with Group B and its five fastest drivers also heading to the final qualifying round. The 10 remaining drivers will have 10 minutes to set a new fastest lap. The truck with the fastest new lap will pole position for the race as the starting lineup is determined.

Todd Gilliland won the first iteration of this race in 2021. He finished the 41 laps in 1:58:30. Zane Smith won last year’s race. It went into overtime and ended up going five extra laps. Smith finished the extended race in 2:25:00.

Here is the full field for the XPEL 225 truck race. We’ll update this with qualifying results until the pole position and full starting lineup are determined.

2023 XPEL 225 Truck Race starting lineup

Pos. Driver Truck #
Pos. Driver Truck #
1 Ross Chastain 41
2 Kyle Busch 51
3 Ty Majeski 98
4 Nick Sanchez 2
5 Christian Eckes 19
6 Carson Hocevar 42
7 Zane Smith 38
8 Grant Enfinger 23
9 Tanner Gray 15
10 Kaz Grala 1
11 Corey Heim 11
12 Tyler Ankrum 16
13 Ben Rhodes 99
14 Logan Bearden 22
15 Stewart Friesen 52
16 Hailie Deegan 13
17 Parker Kligerman 75
18 Lawless Alan 45
19 Taylor Gray 17
20 Rajah Caruth 24
21 Chase Purdy 4
22 Dean Thompson 5
23 Ed Jones 20
24 Kaden Honeycutt 04
25 Colin Garrett 30
26 Spencer Boyd 12
27 Colby Howard 9
28 Matt DiBenedetto 25
29 Timmy Hill 56
30 Mason Filippi 34
31 Bret Holmes 32
32 Jake Garcia 35
33 Dale Quarterley 46
34 Matt Crafton 88
35 Kris Wright 02
36 Daniel Dye 43