clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR starting lineup: A.J. Allmendinger claims pole position in qualifying for Pit Boss 250 Xfinity series race

We’ve got updates as qualifying settles the starting lineup for Saturday’s Pit Boss 250 at the Circuit of the Americas.

A general view of cars on track during the NASCAR Xfinity Series Pit Boss 250 at Circuit of The Americas on May 22, 2021 in Austin, Texas. Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images

Final update: A.J. Allmendinger finished with the fastest time in qualifying and has earned pole position for Saturday’s race.

Group B update: Ty Gibbs, Sheldon Creed, Cole Custer, Parker Kligerman, and Justin Allgaier had the five fastest times in Group B and have advanced to the final round of qualifying.

Group A update: A.J. Allmendinger, William Byron, Sammy Smith, Riley Herbst, and John Hunter Nemechek had the five fastest times in Group A and have advanced to the final round of qualifying.

NASCAR’s Xfinity Series is in Austin this weekend, running the Pit Boss 250 at the Circuit of the Americas road course. It is the first road course of the season for NASCAR and all three circuits will be running at COTA.

The Pit Boss 250 runs on Saturday and qualifying precedes it on Friday. Qualifying starts at 7 p.m. ET on FS1 and will run approximately an hour. There will be two rounds of qualifying. In the first round, the field will be split in two. Each group runs single-lap, single-car qualifying runs. The five fastest in each group advance to a second round where those ten cars run again to secure pole position and positioning in the rest of the top ten.

A.J. Allmendinger is the defending race winner and heads into qualifying as the favorite to repeat at DraftKings Sportsbook. He’s installed at +200 and is followed by William Byron (+300), Ty Gibbs (+500), Cole Custer (+800), and Austin Hill (+900).

Here is the full entry list for the Pit Boss 250 Xfinity Series race. We’ll update it with the full starting lineup as qualifying wraps on Friday.

Pit Boss 250 entry list

2023 Pit Boss 250 starting lineup

Pos. Driver Car #
Pos. Driver Car #
1 A.J. Allmendinger 10
2 Sammy Smith 18
3 Ty Gibbs 19
4 Sheldon Creed 2
5 Parker Kligerman 48
6 John H. Nemechek 20
7 Riley Herbst 98
8 Justin Allgaier 7
9 William Byron 17
10 Cole Custer 0
11 Daniel Hemric 11
12 Austin Hill 21
13 Aric Almirola 08
14 Sam Mayer 1
15 Josh Berry 8
16 Sage Karam 44
17 Carson Hocevar 07
18 Miguel Paludo 88
19 Preston Pardus 50
20 Kaz Grala 26
21 Jeb Burton 27
22 Connor Mosack 24
23 Alex Labbe 92
24 Josh Bilicki 91
25 Jeremy Clements 51
26 Brandon Jones 9
27 Chandler Smith 16
28 Brett Moffitt 25
29 Anthony Alfredo 78
30 Brad Perez 53
31 Ryan Sieg 39
32 Ryan Ellis 43
33 Kyle Weatherman 02
34 Parker Retzlaff 31
35 Joe Graf Jr 38
36 Jeffrey Earnhardt 45
37 Brennan Poole 6
38 Kyle Sieg 28