clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

F1 starting grid: Max Verstappen claims pole position for 2023 Australian Grand Prix

Formula One racing is headed to Melbourne for the Australian Grand Prix. We’ll update qualifying until we’ve got the full racing grid is set Sunday’s race at Australian Circuit.

A general view of the grid during the F1 Grand Prix of Australia at Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit on April 10, 2022 in Melbourne, Australia. Photo by Clive Mason/Getty Images

Q3 results: Max Verstappen earned the pole position.

Q2 results: Nyck De Vries, Kevin Magnussen, Lando Norris, Yuki Tsunoda, and Esteban Ocon were all eliminated.

Q1 results: Oscar Piastri, Zhou Guanyu, Logan Sargeant, Valtteri Bottas, and Sergio Perez were all eliminated.

The 2023 Australian Grand Prix runs early Sunday morning and 24 hours ahead of it, qualifying will determine the starting grid. Qualifying at Albert Park Circuit in Melbourne gets started at 1 a.m. Saturday morning with the 20 drivers competing for a chance at pole position.

Qualifying will air on ESPN and will be available via live stream at WatchESPN. It will run a little over an hour with three sessions. The first session is 18 minutes and features all 20 drivers. The five slowest are removed from the pool and then the remaining 15 run the second session for 15 minutes. The five slowest again are removed and the remaining ten drivers compete across 12 minutes for pole position.

We’ll be providing live updates as the starting grid is set for the 2023 Australian Grand Prix. Max Verstappen is -900 at DraftKings Sportsbook to finish qualifying in the top three. Red Bull teammate Sergio Pérez follows at -300 and Aston Martin’s Fernando Alonso is -190. It then goes to plus money with Ferrari driver Charles Leclerc fourth at +120 to qualify in the top three.

Here is the full entry list for the Australian Grand Prix as qualifying gets underway.

2023 Australian Grand Prix starting grid

Pos Driver Car #
Pos Driver Car #
1 Max Verstappen 1
2 George Russell 63
3 Lewis Hamilton 44
4 Fernando Alonso 14
5 Carlos Sainz 55
6 Lance Stroll 18
7 Charles Leclerc 16
8 Alex Albon 23
9 Pierre Gasly 10
10 Nico Hulkenberg 27
11 Esteban Ocon 31
12 Yuki Tsunoda 22
13 Lando Norris 4
14 Kevin Magnussen 20
15 Nyck De Vries 21
16 Oscar Piastri 81
17 Zhou Guanyu 24
18 Logan Sargeant 2
19 Valtteri Bottas 77
20 Sergio Perez 11