clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How many NBA championships have the Denver Nuggets won?

Here’s a look at how many titles the Nuggets have ahead of the 2023 NBA Finals.

2023 NBA Playoffs - Denver Nuggets v Los Angeles Lakers Photo by Garrett Ellwood/NBAE via Getty Images

The Denver Nuggets have advanced to the 2023 NBA Finals, toppling the Los Angeles Lakers in the Western Conference Finals. As the No. 1 seed in the West for most of the regular season, Nikola Jokic, Jamal Murray, and company carved their way through the first three rounds of the postseason and are now four wins away from hoisting the Larry O’Brien Trophy.

The Nuggets have never won an NBA championship in their franchise’s history as this year will mark their very first trip to the NBA Finals. Denver has had a handful of close calls since joining the league in 1976 as part of the ABA-NBA merger, making the Western Conference Finals just four times prior to this year. In 1978, the David Thompson-led squad fell to the Seattle SuperSonics in six games. In 1985, the Alex English-led Nuggets would lose the WCF in five games to Magic Johnson and the eventual NBA Champion Lakers.

The franchise would not make the WCF again until 2009, where Carmelo Anthony’s group lost to Kobe Bryant and his eventual NBA Champion Laker squad in six games. And in 2020 during the bubble playoffs, Jokic, Murray, and the Nuggets lost to LeBron James and Anthony Davis’ eventual NBA Champion Laker squad in five games.