clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

F1 practice start time: When the Miami Grand Prix practice starts on Friday, Saturday and how long it lasts

We go over the details for F1 practice at the Miami International Autodrome in South Florida on Friday and Saturday. We break down the details for when it runs and how to watch.

A general view of the start during the F1 Grand Prix of Miami at the Miami International Autodrome on May 08, 2022 in Miami, Florida. Photo by Dan Istitene - Formula 1/Formula 1 via Getty Images

The 2023 Miami Grand Prix takes place this weekend and marks Formula One’s return to the United States. F1 will run three races in the US, with the US Grand Prix and Las Vegas Grand Prix coming this fall.

The Miami Grand Prix opens with three practice sessions across Friday and Saturday. On Friday, practice runs 2:30-3:30 p.m. ET and then against from 6:00-7:00 p.m. ET. The final practice is on Saturday and runs 12:30-1:30 p.m.

Practice provides the field a chance to get used to the track and test out their cars. They might decide on a tire change or adjust different parts of the car to speed them up. While points are not earned in practice, there are still betting opportunities. DraftKings Sportsbook is offering odds on a top three finish on practice laps. Max Verstappen is installed at -600, Sergio Pérez is -300, and Fernando Alonso is -110. Charles Leclerc is set at even money and Carlos Sainz follows at +400.

How to watch practice for the Miami Grand Prix

Practice 1: Friday, May 5, 2:30 p.m. — ESPN2
Practice 2: Friday, May 5, 6:00 p.m. — ESPN2
Practice 3: Saturday, May 6, 12:30 p.m. — ESPN
Live stream: WatchESPN

Entry list

2023 Miami Grand Prix starting lineup

Pos Driver Start
Pos Driver Start
1 Sergio Perez 1
2 Fernando Alonso 2
3 Carlos Sainz 3
4 Kevin Magnussen 4
5 Pierre Gasly 5
6 George Russell 6
7 Charles Leclerc 7
8 Esteban Ocon 8
9 Max Verstappen 9
10 Valtteri Bottas 10
11 Alex Albon 11
12 Nico Hulkenberg 12
13 Lewis Hamilton 13
14 Zhou Guanyu 14
15 Nyck De Vries 15
16 Lando Norris 16
17 Yuki Tsunoda 17
18 Lance Stroll 18
19 Oscar Piastri 19
20 Logan Sargeant 20