clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

F1 starting grid: Sergio Pérez claims pole position for Miami Grand Prix

Formula One racing is headed to Florida for the Miami Grand Prix. We’ll update qualifying until we’ve got the full racing grid set for Sunday’s race at Miami International Autodrome.

Sergio Perez, Red Bull Racing RB19 during the Azerbaijan Grand Prix at Baku City Circuit on Sunday April 30, 2023 in Baku, Azerbaijan. Photo by Michael Potts/BSR Agency/Getty Images

Update, 2 — Nyck De Vries, Zhou Guanyu, Lewis Hamilton, Nico Hulkenberg and Alex Albon were eliminated in Q2 qualifying.

Update, 1 — Logan Sargeant, Oscar Piastri, Lance Stroll, Yuki Tsunoda and Lando Norris were eliminated in Q1 qualifiying.

Formula One racing has arrived in Florida this weekend for the 2023 Miami Grand Prix. The race will take place on Sunday at the Miami International Autodrome, getting underway at 3:30 p.m. ET on ESPN and ABC. It will be available for live stream at WatchESPN.

The day prior, qualifying will take place at 4 p.m. ET. on ESPN 2. The 20 drivers will face off for an hour of racing to establish the fastest time and secure pole position. F1 qualifying is broken up into three stages. The first 20 minutes will eliminate five drivers, and the next 15 minutes will eliminate five more. That will leave the remaining ten competing for pole position in Sunday’s race.

It has become common to see Max Verstappen with the best odds of winning the pole position or the race in general. For the Miami Grand Prix, he has the best odds of winning the pole position at DraftKings Sportsbook installed at -150. Verstappen is followed by Charles Leclerc (+300), Sergio Perez (+475), Fernando Alonso (+1400) and Carlos Sainz (+1800).

Here is the full entry list for Sunday’s Miami Grand Prix as qualifying gets underway. We’ll provide updates with each driver’s time and how the starting lineup settles.

2023 Miami Grand Prix starting lineup

Pos Driver Start
Pos Driver Start
1 Sergio Perez 1
2 Fernando Alonso 2
3 Carlos Sainz 3
4 Kevin Magnussen 4
5 Pierre Gasly 5
6 George Russell 6
7 Charles Leclerc 7
8 Esteban Ocon 8
9 Max Verstappen 9
10 Valtteri Bottas 10
11 Alex Albon 11
12 Nico Hulkenberg 12
13 Lewis Hamilton 13
14 Zhou Guanyu 14
15 Nyck De Vries 15
16 Lando Norris 16
17 Yuki Tsunoda 17
18 Lance Stroll 18
19 Oscar Piastri 19
20 Logan Sargeant 20