clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jonathan Loaisiga gets start in Yankees lighter offensive lineup for rubber match with Nationals

The Yankees and Nationals return to action on Saturday with one big addition and one big subtraction.

Patrick Corbin of the Washington Nationals walks to the dugout after pitching against the Baltimore Orioles during the second inning at Nationals Park on July 21, 2020 in Washington, DC. Photo by Scott Taetsch/Getty Images

The New York Yankees and Washington Nationals wrap up their season-opening series on Sunday with a rubber match on TBS. First pitch is scheduled for 1:05 p.m. ET with Jonathan Loaisiga taking the mound for the Yankees and Patrick Corbin getting the start for the Nationals.

The Yankees won a rain-shortened opener 4-1 behind a Gerrit Cole one-hitter in the free agent addition’s first start. He struck out five and the lone hit was an Adam Eaton home run. The Nationals responded on Saturday with a 9-2 thumping. James Paxton worked around a two-out triple in the first before getting pulled in the second after giving up three singles, a double, and a walk to open the inning. Erik Fedde started for the Nationals after Stephen Strasburg was a scratch due to a nerve issue. Asdrubal Cabrera, Michael A. Taylor, and Victor Robles all went deep in the win.

Loaisiga gets the start in place of Masahiro Tanaka, who remains on the injured list as he continues working back from a concussion. Tanaka was hit in the head by a Giancarlo Stanton line drive in mid-July. Tanaka is back pitching in preparation for a return to the team, but is not quite ready yet.

The Nationals batting order remains fairly similar to what we’ve seen thus far, while the Yankees are giving some of their hitters the day off. The Yankees will be without Aaron Hicks, Gary Sanchez, and Brett Gardner in the rubber match.

New York Yankees starting lineup

1. DJ LeMahieu, 2B
2. Aaron Judge, RF
3. Gleyber Torres, SS
4. Giancarlo Stanton, DH
5. Luke Voit, 1B
6. Gio Urshela, 3B
7. Miguel Andújar, LF
8. Kyle Higashioka, C
9. Mike Tauchman, CF
SP: Jonathan Loaisiga, RHP

Washington Nationals starting lineup

1. Trea Turner, SS
2. Adam Eaton, RF
3. Starlin Castro, 2B
4. Howie Kendrick, DH
5. Eric Thames, 1B
6. Asdrubal Cabrera, 3B
7. Victor Robles, CF
8. Yan Gomes, C
9. Michael A. Taylor, LF
SP: Patrick Corbin, LHP