clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kobe Bryant, Tim Duncan headline 2020 Basketball Hall of Fame class

Kevin Garnett, Tamika Catchings and Eddie Sutton among other inductees into basketball hall this year.

San Antonio Spurs center Tim Duncan during the first quarter against the Golden State Warriors at Oracle Arena. The Warriors defeated the Spurs 112-101.  Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

Kobe Bryant and Tim Duncan were among two inductees into the Basketball Hall of Fame for the 2020 class, which was announced on Saturday afternoon. Here’s the full list of inductees:

Kobe, Duncan and Kevin Garnett were the three NBA players to make it in. Also getting in are the following: Indiana Fever star Tamika Catchings, former NBA coach Rudy Tomjanovich, former Oklahoma State coach Eddie Sutton, former Baylor women’s coach Kim Mulkey, Bentley University women’s coach Barbara Stevens, and IOC and FIBA exec Patrick Baumann. The enshrinement ceremony will take place August 28-30.

After Bryant’s tragic death, it was announced that he would be among the inductees into the Hall of Fame. Kobe’s been an unofficial Hall of Famer for a while now. We all knew he was getting in, this is just a bit earlier. Over 20 seasons with the Lakers, Kobe won five championships, two Finals MVPs and the 2007-08 regular-season MVP.

Garnett entered the NBA out of high school and his impact was immediately felt. He dominated early in his career with the Timberwolves, a 15-time All-Star. He put the cherry on top of his career by winning a championship with the Celtics in 2007-08. He won regular-season MVP in 2003-04 and All-Star Game MVP in 02-03.

Duncan is still in the NBA, coaching for his former team, the Spurs. Arguably the best power forward of all-time, Duncan’s career spanned three decades. He won five championships over what felt like one of the longest dynasties of all-time. Duncan was a 15-time All-Star and 15-time All-Defensive selection. He won Finals MVP three times and was a two-time regular-season MVP, plus 2000 ASG MVP.