clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NBA to name MVP, All-Seeding Round team

Who will take home bubble MVP? Devin Booker or T.J. Warren? The NBA will announce winners after the regular season ends.

Tyler Herro of the Miami Heat and Devin Booker of the Phoenix Suns hi-five after the game on August 8, 2020 at Visa Athletic Center at ESPN Wide World of Sports in Orlando, Florida. Photo by David Dow/NBAE via Getty Images

Nobody thought it would happen, but we’re going to get our bubble boy after all! The NBA announced it’s planning on naming an MVP for the seeding round and an All-Seeding Round team once the regular season wraps up on Friday.

The NBA will honor some of the best players from inside the NBA bubble in Orlando so far. Some early candidates for best player have to include Devin Booker, T.J. Warren and Jusuf Nurkic among others. With how the Phoenix Suns are playing, Booker probably has the fast track to MVP. Damian Lillard should also be in consideration if the Blazers can pull it off and claim the 8-seed. There’s still a lot to be decided. Luka Doncic had a few huge games inside the bubble as well, but has also missed a game or two with the Mavericks underperforming.

We also aren’t sure what the criteria will be for bubble MVP. Is it based solely off statistics inside the bubble? Is it a player who maybe over-performed inside the bubble — like Warren. Or an established player like Lillard or Booker who leads his respective team to the playoffs? If I had to handicap this right now, I’d probably say Booker is the favorite with Warren and Lillard right behind the Suns shooting guard.