clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Full list of NBA awards finalists for 2020-21 season

We go over the finalists for each award this season, including MVP, Rookie of the Year and Most Improved Player.

Head coach Tom Thibodeau of the New York Knicks reacts after the ball is given to Charlotte Hornets with 11 seconds left in regulation against the Charlotte Hornets at Madison Square Garden on May 15, 2021 in New York City. Photo by Elsa/Getty Images

The NBA decided to announce the finalists for 2020-21 awards on Thursday night prior to the play-in tournament between the Washington Wizards and Indiana Pacers. There really aren’t too many surprises when looking at the betting markets. The finalists for NBA MVP ended up being Nikola Jokic, Stephen Curry and Joel Embiid. We’ll go over each award and look at the finalists.


Denver Nuggets C Nikola Jokic
Golden State Warriors G Stephen Curry
Philadelphia 76ers C Joel Embiid

Most Improved Player

New York Knicks PF Julius Randle
Detroit Pistons F Jerami Grant
Denver Nuggets F Michael Porter Jr.

Defensive Player of the Year

Utah Jazz C Rudy Gobert
Golden State Warriors F/C Draymond Green
Philadelphia 76ers G/F Ben Simmons

6th Man of the Year

Utah Jazz G Jordan Clarkson
New York Knicks G Derrick Rose
Utah Jazz G Joe Ingles

Coach of the Year

Phoenix Suns’ Monty Williams
New York Knicks’ Tom Thibodeau
Utah Jazz Quinn Snyder

Rookie of the Year

Charlotte Hornets G LaMelo Ball
Minnesota Timberwolves G Anthony Edwards
Sacramento Kings G Tyrese Haliburton