clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Tokyo Olympics live stream: How to watch Friday’s events online through NBC Sports

We go over how to live stream Friday’s schedule of events in the 2021 Tokyo Summer Olympics.

Fiona Gammond, Sara Parfett, Rebecca Edwards, Chloe Brew, Katherine Douglas, Caragh McMurtry, Rebecca Muzerie, Emily Ford and Matilda Horn (cox) of Team Great Britain Women’s Eight (w8+) in action during a training session ahead of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games on July 22, 2021 in Tokyo, Japan.  Photo by Naomi Baker/Getty Images

The Tokyo Olympics continue on Friday as we start to move into a broader schedule of events. The first two days of the Summer Olympics focused on women’s soccer and softball group play, but on Friday we start to see some more events added to the mix. Archery and Rowing join the mix while Dressage and Shooting finish some preliminary activities before the competition gets underway. And most importantly, Friday is when we get the Opening Ceremony.

The Opening Ceremony is taking place at 8 p.m. Tokyo time, which is 7 a.m. ET. Traditionally when the Opening Ceremony is in the morning in US time zones, NBC will not air them live. The network will broadcast it in primetime even though it’s tape delayed. This year, NBC will air the Opening Ceremony live from 6:55 a.m. to 11 a.m. ET on Friday morning, and then air a primetime broadcast from 7:30 p.m. to midnight on Friday evening.

Rowing opens with single, double, and quadruple sculls heats. They will be starting at 8:30 a.m. Tokyo time Friday morning, which is 7:30 p.m. ET Thursday night. There will be no live coverage, but NBC Sports Network will be airing a replay at noon ET on Friday.

If you are not in front of a television, NBCOlympics.com will live stream the coverage. You’ll need a cable subscription for access. If you don’t have one, you can get a free trial from YouTube TV, Hulu with Live TV, AT&T TV Now, FuboTV, or Sling TV to view a stream. You can also watch on the NBC Sports mobile app.

Archery is holding its individual ranking rounds for women and men at 9 a.m. and 1 p.m. Tokyo time, which is 8 p.m. and midnight ET. The individual ranking rounds will set the order for the single elimination bracket that will be used for the competition. Televised coverage of archery will not happen until mixed team eliminations begin Friday night.

Additionally, Dressage will hold its 1st Horse Inspection and shooting is holding pre-event training for women’s and men’s 10m Air Rifle.